Command AV purchase

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kjempen, Aug 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    I have a small home network where both computers are online. On the other computer I have NOD32 and I am very satisfied with that (but I want a different scanner on this one to get some "overlapping"). On this computer I have tried F-Prot but it gave me some problems with computer games not loading correctly etc until I turned off the real time monitor. So I'm considering maybe buying the Command AV? Doesn't it use F-Prot Professional's defs plus a mixture of its own defs? Sounds very good to me! :)

    Is this the place where people purchase it? --> http://www.authentium.com/store/index.cfm

    I was a little confused by that web page, at first I thought I could purchase and then download it. But from the looks of it, you have to get it shipped in a box to your address? I don't want that... Is it not possible to get a downloadable version?

    EDIT: Fixed link
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  3. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Thanks, ronjor! It was downloadable after all, and I have it now. :)
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Good luck with the command av, I really have liked it and it does a good job ;)
     
  5. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Does the Command AV licence allow you to run it on multiple systems on a home network? (F-Prot allow up to 5 copies). I have not been able to find this information on their website and Authentium have not responded my emailed query on this.

    Unfortunately, I have found (like Kjempen) that F-Prot's Real Time Protection has to be disabled - it uses 100% CPU when a game is started and conflicts with Outpost firewall (resulting in it using large amounts of CPU) since it cannot be configured to exclude Outpost's log files.
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Paranoid, since you are in the UK, try David Millward, who is the UK Technical Manager for Authentium UK. I have found him to be very quick in answering queries; dmillward@authentium.co.uk.

    I am keeping an eye out for their annual free offer in the UK PC magazines. I have been able to run CSAV for free for the past 18 months due to these free offers, but unfortunately no offer as yet this year.

    But do not forget that if you go with the present offer on their main web-site, http://www.authentium.com/store/index.cfm that support is not given with this special offer. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=43122
     
  7. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Blackcat, thanks for the info. I'll check it out. :)
     
  8. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    kjempen,
    Bigc and others recommended it. Then they dropped the price. I liked what I read on this forum. I have been pleased as well, purchased about a month ago. At least you know where to go for some support. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.