COM Surrogate Question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rainwalker, Oct 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    After doing a look around i am still uncertain about COM Surrogate/dllhost.
    I have been receiving a great many popups lately asking for permission. When I block it everything SEEMS ok.........i know many think it should not be in Vista because of security concerns.......if i permanently not allow it will i in time run into problems as a result ?
     
  2. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I really do need an answer here as these permission asking popups are ongoing.
     
  3. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    If i remember correctly, its caused by conflicting video codecs, mainly nero with divx or something like that.

    Try renaming:
    NeVideo.ax
    NeroVideoProc.ax

    To:
    NeVideo.ax.Bak
    NeroVideoProc.ax.Bak

    Restart when done

    Hope that helps :D
     
  4. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, i have read that, but no such programs running here.
     
  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  6. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
  7. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Didn't work GF.......rebooted and still getting the popups.
    I'm getting the popups pretty much for anything i open or change.
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    _ista by upgrade or fresh install? Any rootkit detector's, say from gmer.net onboard? Having no idea what's installed read through the following. Short of that you'll either need to hang tight for more suggestion's or determine on your own where the problem lies.

    http://www.neowin.net/forum/lofiversion/index.php/t502040.html

    This pdf - wwwdotsymantec.com/avcenter/reference/Windows_Vista_Security_Model_Analysis.pdf
    may hold clue's .... your's for the reading.


    GF
     
  9. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I realized after my post the popups( from a 3rd party HIPS) were most likely happening happening because the HIPS was seeing the action before the OS so i allowed the dllhost stuff and that stopped it..........but i suppose that in of itself would stop the popups .........i have long since scanned with Gmer....
    Thanks for the good read.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.