columns send/received/creation empty

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by gkweb, Dec 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hi,

    before when i used Port Explorer all worked fine.
    Today, i had to use it to test many software and to see how many bytes they sent/received, and nothing was displayed.
    All other comlumns display everything, all process are displayed, but send/received/creation never move.

    For instance i started a download at 65KB/s and nothing in the received column was displayed.
    I remember perfectly to have seen this column works the last time i use PE, since i do manyy upgrade on my system, may be it is related.

    I don't know how to help you to view the problem, so i can just give you my software installed : Look'n'Stop 2.05 beta1,
    norton antivirus 2004, Mozilla Firebird, Mozilla Thunderbird (all last official build), and Miranda (Instant Messaging software).

    Whatever i do, this columns doesn't move.

    EDIT : usually i don't display the log window at the bottom, now i display and it remain empty.

    EDIT2 : i test often many firewall, i used to properly install them and properly uninstall them (install, reboot, uninstall, reboot).
    May be one of them left me a small gift.

    LSP fix says :
    mswsock.dll TCP/IP
    winrnr.dll NTDS
    rsvpsp.dll (protocol handler)
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi gkweb, wondering what's going on here, as it most certainly doesn't seem right with the bottom window empty even though you enabled it in your logging.
    Did you try the lowest value 500 lines and with the log file 1 mb too?
    For the send/receive i am not all sure what happened there.
    Hope somebody knowing the answer or more adequate questions jumps in here.
    If you used the socket spy on those applications, did you see any packets coming in there?
     
  3. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    gkweb & Jooske, If I remember correcly this can be caused but corrupt log file and that deleting pelog.txt can cure the problem, PE will recreate the file one logging is enabled
     
  4. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Logging to a file is disabled, and max rows in log window is limited to 500 :doubt:

    And i can't use the Socket Spy, the line is greyed (disable).
    If i launch manually socket spy and that i select on PID, when i do "add" the PID isn't added on the right and i can't spy it.

    I don't know why, before it was working very well.
     
  5. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    OK, So it may be worth uninstalling and reinstalling just in case anything else has been corrupted. If this does not work then we shall have to wait for Jason's response.
     
  6. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    usually, i never re install windows or any program, i prefer to investigate and to tweak/repair my system.

    However i followed your advice (i thought about it but i won't never do that myself ;) )and it works !

    I think it was a problem with the registering of the dll that uses PE.
    Indeed while the uninstall it said "dcsxx.dll sucessfully unregistered", and when i install it again (after a reboot), Look'n'Stop DLL control asks me if i wanted to allow PE to use this particular DLL, what it never done before.

    So i think after installing/uninstalling many firewall and playing with Norton WinDoctor, few things haven't be repaired or badly repaired by norton.

    Anyway i'm happy now :D
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Great! Well done gkweb, Although it is nice to find these problems out it is not always possible as some programmes, Norton & McCafe come specifically to mind, have a way of trying to control YOUR system.
    I can remember, a couple of years ago, having to re-install W2K once because of the mess McCafe got my system into - Never again!
    Regarding Norton I do use Ghost

    Glad to have been of help - Pilli
     
  8. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Thanks for the gift - I'll leave until my BD tomorrow ;)
     
  10. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    I'm not sure tomorrow the gift inside will still be good... as you want ;)
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    One thing to remember with un/re-intalling PE: best to rename or delete the capture.bin if there is so a new one will be created if you spy again.


    So Pilli, in 17 minutes our local time we can start congratulation you with the BD. That's great!
    Congratulations then, am i the first? Many good years to come and enjoy!
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Thanks Jooske, Only 22:55 here, I shall be asleep before tomorrow I hope ;)
    Tomorrow will be a busy day :) .. Did I say busy? Sorry Beery :D
     
  13. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
  14. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Wow! that certainly looks great! open the gates Pilli , let the good birthday wishes karma cookies ship in!
    (for you with beer taste if you prefer)

    A special birthday song to be played from TDS.
    In copying this mind the wrapped lines
    ======================================
    Call MSAgentForm.LoadMSAgent("Genie", "Genie.acs")
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Show"
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "MoveTo", "200", "200", "1000"
    singingvoice = "\chr="+chr(34)+"monotone"+chr(34)
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", singingvoice+"\\spd=130\\pit=65\Hap-\pit=65\p \pit=73\birth-\pit=65\day \spd=55\\pit=87\To \pit=82\you."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", singingvoice+"\\spd=130\\pit=65\Hap-\pit=65\p \pit=73\birth-\pit=65\day \spd=55\\pit=98\To \pit=87\you."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", singingvoice+"\\spd=130\\pit=65\Hap-\pit=65\p \pit=131\birth-\pit=110\day, \spd=50\\pit=87\to \pit=82\Pil-\pit=73\li."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", singingvoice+"\\spd=130\\pit=117\Hap-\pit=117\p \pit=110\birth-\pit=87\day \spd=55\\pit=98\To \pit=87\you."
    MSAgentForm.AgentControl "Speak", "To get rid of me type 'hide' in the console. Hope you enjoy your birthday!Bye!"
    Sub Hide
    MSAgent.Characters.Unload "Genie"
    End Sub
    ======================================
     
  15. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Thanks gkweb, Good job I'm a quck licker :) And the bicuits go down very well ;)

    Jooske ..

    rror] ERR: Expected 'End' (LINE: 1 COL::cool:
    09:49:24 [Script Error] SRC: Sub Hide
    09:49:24 [Script Error] ERR: The character ID is not valid.Verify that ID has been defined and is spelled correctly. (LINE: 1 COL:0)
    09:49:24 [Script Error] ERR: Expected st
     
  16. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Looks like wrapped lines.
    Hope your Genie is in the default place windows\msagent\chars?
    If not, the first line should read
    ==============================
    Call MSAgentForm.LoadMSAgent("Genie", SysVar("sys.windowsdirectory") & "\msagent\chars\Genie.acs")
    ===============================
    Mind you this is ONE long line, so mind the wrapping.
    You should load the file from TDS > SS3 > Load script > search for the Birthday.SS3 you just saved there and doubleclick it to have it loaded (NOT run!)

    Have attached it here as a txt file; change the extension back to SS3 and give it another try please!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    :D Thanks Jooske, It was a wrapping problem :D

    I am now on Boliday .. I'll have a drink for everybody.... Or at least try!
     
  18. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    For 8000 members? wow! that's a lot of thirst!
    Salut! Hmm, should have added such a line in your script!
    Glad it works now! :cool:
     
  19. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Don't drink too much, or if you really want to drink for 8000 members try coca cola light ! ;)


    Jookse:
    ?

    isn't that a french word ? what does it do in your sentence :)
     
  20. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Nah, No problem , I have a few friends to help! :D
     
  21. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Salut! Spanish i think, like "down you go!" "On your health!"


    Cola Light with beers? pwewww that's good for hangovers i guess! Very light cause of rums maybe? :cool:
     
  22. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    in french "Salut" means "hi", that's why i didn't well understand your sentence :D

    about Pilli, i don't think we will have news until next week, let him time to cure all his alcool :)
     
  23. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Happy birthday Pilli! :)

    -Jason-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.