Cloud anti-virus and satellite connection

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jdd58, Jul 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    526
    Location:
    USA
    Would there be any performance issues when using a cloud anti-virus over a high latency satellite connection? My pings are in the 1600ms range.

    Also I have a bandwidth restriction. Would there be additional bandwidth used compared to a traditional anti-virus?
     
  2. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    I'm a certified WildBlue installer (among other things) and you have nothing to be concerned about. :D
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you explain in more detail about the concerns?
     
  4. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    526
    Location:
    USA
    I have a 3000 MB per 30 days upload limit and a 12,000 MB download limit. I like to keep unnecessary traffic to a minimum so as to avoid going over the limit.

    Not knowing how files are checked I wasn’t sure if a cloud anti-virus would add to the latency a great deal or not. I am a satisfied WildBlue customer but latency really is an issue when using https due to the handshaking going on.

    If EliteKiller put his stamp of approval on it, being a WildBlue installer, that’s good enough for me.
     
  5. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Then,you'd better not use such antivirus software . Take some that doesn't work that way , updates max. 3-4 times a day and protect yourself using other measures.
     
  6. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    I hate ISP's with all these bw restrictions. I just got a restriction last year and it sucks.
     
  7. progress

    progress Guest

    Is there no flat rate available in the US? I can't believe it :doubt:
     
  8. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Not for residential satellite-delivered internet. Both Hughesnet and WildBlue FAP their customers.
     
  9. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    526
    Location:
    USA
    Where I live satellite is the only choice other than dial-up. DSL is available 3 miles away. Hopefully it will make its way out here soon.

    I'm giving Panda Cloud a try for now and will see how it goes.

    Thanks to all.
     
  10. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Panda Cloud uses about 135kb a day after the first scan. As long as you do not scan daily I can't see how Panda Cloud will use that much data.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.