Close Message Handling

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by WilliamP, May 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I know that this has been discussed before. Please don't hit me with anything. I would just like for it to work. I can even close PG without verification. Please tell me,honestly, that it is being worked on.
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    William, You can close Process Guard. exe but that does not stop the protection as you cannot close dcsuserprot if Process Guard protection is enabled - Try it :)

    You can easily check that the procguard.dll is loaded by clicking the loaded process - If it does not show the first time then reload the process. Looking in the .dll window of process explorer (show lower pane) or faber toys and it will usually work.

    Yes, Jason is totally aware of the problem but currently has higher priorities.

    HTH Pilli :)
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you for the reply Pilli. I'm still trying to learn how to use Process Explorer.
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    OK William, May I suggest Faber Toys?http://www.faberbox.com/fabertoys.asp
    This does similar things and will show you easily the dependencies for each running process.
    Install Faber Toys -
    Click your Start button - Programs - Faber toys - click the "Dependencies" icon - Find the process you want to look at and click it - All of the depenent files will be shown in the lower window. If you have close message handling enabled procguard.dll will show in the lower window list providing it has loaded correctly to the protected program.
     
  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    The procguard.dll doesn't load in TDS3. I tried reloading TDS3 and it still doesn't load. What is really strange is if I check for updates and it is allready up to date,then the verification window pops up twice.
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    You may need to try reloading TDS3 several times to get the procguard.dll loaded.
    I do not shutdown this PC as a rule, usually use hibernate, so do not often have to reload the close message handling protected programs.

    Do you mean an HID pop up or the secure desktop?
     
  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    The human verification window. I can find the dll loaded in NOD32 but I can't get it to load in TDS3.
     
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Ok Pilli I closed and reopened TDS3 three times and finally the procguard.dll showed up. You would think that PG would like TDS3. After all they are related.
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Yeh, Not sure why , possibly a timing issue :)
     
  10. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    JMO

    I find it a bit unnerving when we talk about a "timing issue" preventing the successful insertion of a module to effect Close Message Handling. It would seem to me that PG's coding should CONFIRM that CMH is properly injected when it is told to. If CMH is not injected successfully, PG should retry for X attempts and ERROR MESSAGE out if unsuccessful so the user knows something is wrong.
     
  11. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi siliconman01, Close Message handling is an experimental part of Process Guard ans DCS has stated that since it was introduced.
    I am guessing it may be a timing error.:)
    It does work properly once the procguard.dll is in the protected processes dependencies list which is easily checked.
     
  12. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    I've become so "dependent" on PG as my system "Samurai" that I don't like seeing options such as CMH and Global Hooks not working correctly for very long. :D Hopefully, "experimental" will turn into WAD soon. *puppy*
     
  13. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    The procguard.dll will load only after TDS3 is reloaded 3 times. Seems like that is the secret number. After it loads it does work. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.