Cloning Windows 2000 SBS

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JanDK, May 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JanDK

    JanDK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Does anyone have some enlightment on how to make a copy of a Windows 2000 server that is also hosting the Active Directory.
    My setup is:
    2 identical servers
    Windows 2000 Small Business Server
    Runs AD and works as the Domain controller in the network.

    Backup and restore works fine, and I can boot the other server on the image copy.
    However, no clients can log on to the domain !

    I suspect the trust relationship or something hidden gets mixed up.....

    TrueImage server, 8.0.

    Thanks for any idaes!
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JanDK,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software for Server.

    If you want to back up an Active Directory server, please stop ntfrs and netlogon services either manually.
    Before you start the backup:

    - net stop ntfrs
    - net stop netlogon

    After the backup is complete:

    - net start ntfrs
    - net start netlogon

    You may also want to read the extracts from Active Directory Operations Guide by Microsoft.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  3. JanDK

    JanDK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks !
    Good help....

    It was my first use of the forum. It proved very useful!

    In any case, TrueImage is a great program - I still remember those days where all we had was cumbersome databackups.....
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JanDK,

    If you have any questions concerning our software, please feel free to ask us.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  5. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    You didn't start the restored (2nd) server *in* the network together with the old SBS did you?

    That would quite mess up the network for a while. DHCP, identical SIDs, 2 identically named domain controllers, 2 nics claiming the same IP...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.