Cloning using IFW or others

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by LunarWolf, Mar 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hi,

    I would like to clone my current 640GB hdd to a WD scorpio Black 500GB HDD. The thing is my 640GB HDD have 2 partition. C and D. The C and D partition takes up a total of 87GB. The reason for clonning is my cureent HDD is it is showing signs of failing. Bad sectors. The IFW instructuions are not clear. So my question are

    1. How do I go about cloning this HDD?
    2. How to restore to the 500GB HDD?
    3. I have 1 full backup image + 6 others "changes only" image. If I were to clone and restore my current HDD to the new one, can I continue adding "changes only" image to the exisiting images?
    4. If I were to restore an image in the future from my new 500GB HDD, do I need to use additional settings or just restore like normal?
    5. Or is it better for me to formatand install eeverything from scratch? I don't have lots of programs running. I am running mostly portable programs.

    Any other ideas are welcome.

    Thank You
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    LunarWolf,

    It should be easy. A few questions...

    Can you post a screenshot of Disk Management so we can see the partition layout?

    Which OS are you using? Are there any OS problems related to the bad sectors?

    Is your computer a laptop or desktop? Can you have both HDs in the computer?

    What is the date of the most recent Changes Only backup?
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    No, start a new backup series.

    No, just restore like normal.

    I never do that.
     
  4. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    http://i.imgur.com/OIsh3wz.jpg

    http://i.imgur.com/rrQ5BV7.jpg


    I don't understand what do you mean by the above.

    http://i.imgur.com/2Hk38kc.jpg
    This is the error. Even tried to fix it using WD back in February but no luck. Running Windos 7 HP SP1 32-bit.

    http://i.imgur.com/xMT4I6N.jpg

    Laptop. I will get myself a new HD. This was what I am planning.
    1. Remove the old HD
    2. Plug in both old and new HD to a desktop
    3. Clone old HD to new HD.
    4. Replace laptop with new HD
    5. Format old HD, repartition and use it as external HD.

    http://i.imgur.com/HFqBXN8.jpg
    1 - original full backup
    2 - latest Changes Only backup
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    LunarWolf,

    Thanks for the info.

    You have three primary partitions (not two) and we need to know which is the Active partition, the first or the second. Expand the Status column. We can't see this on your Disk Management screenshot.

    Do you have a USB external HD or a 16 GB USB flash drive?

    Restoring an image with the new HD in the laptop will be more reliable than doing it in another computer.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  6. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Here you go

    http://i.imgur.com/z3CIJmE.jpg

    The first partition 21.48GB is my OEM partition.

    I do have with me 2 500GB ext USB HD which I use as storage for my programs, files, etc. One 16GB USB Flash drive

    http://Restoring an image with the new HD in the laptop will be more reliable than doing it in another computer.
    How?

    I forgot to mention that I have 2 more full original image. Both are more or less the same. which shall be represent with (1), (2), and current backup as (3)

    (1) Clean install - Freshly formatted Windows 7 + Office + July 2013 Windows Update + drivers installed
    (2) Clean install, no security - (1) + Browsers + parts which made up (3)
    (3) Monthly Backup - (2) + KIS 2013 + February 2014 Windows Updates
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    LunarWolf,

    Excellent. Thanks.

    There are several ways to do this but my preference is this....

    Copy your TBI images 1 and 2 to an external HD.
    Copy your data files in the D: drive to an external HD. You probably already have backed these up so no need to do it again.
    Forget the OEM partition.

    Remove the failing HD and install your blank un-partitioned 500 GB Scorpio HD.
    Boot from your TeraByte media and restore your Feb 22nd image to the free space. (I assume it's a Win7 partition image)
    In the Options windows leave the default choices ticked but also tick these options...

    Set Active
    Restore Disk Signature
    Restore First Track
    You can choose the Validates if you desire

    Don't edit the Resize field

    When the restore has completed, boot the new HD.

    Now you can create a partition in the remaining unallocated free space and copy/paste your data files into the new partition. It might be called E: drive instead of D: drive but we can fix that.

    Questions?
     
  8. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    If just copy out my 1 and 2 backup, the backup before that will be lost. My 2 backup is based on Monthly Backup 28012014 2100 6 and 6 is based on Monthly Backup 5 and so forth. That won't be a problem right?

    If my disk is IFL, can it still do the same thing you said above?

     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I didn't appreciate you have been doing incremental backups rather than differential backups. You are correct. You must copy all TBI files in that folder to the external HD. You only have to select the February backup for the restore. The others will be found automatically.

    Yes. I prefer IFL for restores too.
     
  10. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia

    I didn't know IFW can do differential backups. I only select the Backup (Changes Only) and then select my last month previous backup. So in the future, if I backup, I must select the original image and just that one as template and not select the previous month's as a template to do a differential backup. Am I right?


    Hope you don't mind me asking, how to go about it? o_O
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That's correct.

    Do you have an IFL boot disc (CD or UFD)? If not I can give some instructions on making one.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Restore instructions...

    Restore
    Normal
    File (Direct)
    Linux Drive
    sdb (should be your USB external HD)
    choose partition or volume containing the backup
    select the backup
    select the Item to process (tick should already be there)
    Linux Drive
    sda (should be your internal HD)
    select the Free Space
    Yes to the Warning
    Options as discussed


    Making an IFL boot disk...

    double click makedisk.exe, next
    Custom Settings, next
    dot in I accept the agreement, next
    tick in Align Partitions on 2048 sectors
    ignore Miscellaneous, next
    ignore Additional ifl.ini Options, next
    Product Key (it's a short one compared to IFW), next
    Normal Boot, next
    Normal Boot, next
    BIBM Licensed Name, Product Key
    Ignore the BIBM page if you don't have BIBM
    select your CD burner drive letter (you can use a CD-RW or a CD-R disc). Or USB flash drive. Or ISO File.
    If using a UFD I choose
    USB Layout... Partition - FAT/FAT32 partition (Int13h Extensions)
    Geometry Calculation Method... Use Device
    Finish
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  13. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I aleady make a IFL in my flash drive. But I hope you won't mind telling me how to integrate my IFL iso + Windows 7 iso + Ubuntu iso into one flash drive. I have only maage to integrate WIndows 7 and Ubuntu using Yumi. But Yumi did not recognise my IFL or maybe I do not know which to select.

    Second, if I want a clean computer without any security, I should restore backup (2) instead of image 2 right?
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's up to you which image to restore. I'd restore the most recent one. But it's your choice.

    I don't use Yumi or similar apps anymore. I create images of the flash drive so I can restore the relevant image to the flash drive and have the one flash drive perform different functions.
     
  15. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    That is like carrying 5 or 6 sticks. Isn't it much better to just use one stick for all?
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If I help a friend I know which UFD I'll need. Otherwise I'd prefer to carry six UFD rather than use Yumi. My preference.
     
  17. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Thank You so much for your time and patience. I will clone my HD maybe 2 or 3 weeks from now when I get the new HD.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    In that case I suggest creating a new full backup image, writing it to an external HD. Use this full image for the restore as it will be the most recent backup.

    Please keep us informed of your progress.
     
  19. Alhaitham

    Alhaitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    Egypt
    @ LunarWolf

    for multiboot flash drive

    using this

    Easy2Boot link1 link2

    it works by
    -preparing the flash drive
    -then just copying the payload file (.iso, .bin, .ima, .img, .vhd, etc.) to a certain folder in the drive and you're done

    my drive has more than 10 payload files
     
  20. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    @Brian K, it works. I followed the instructions provided by you and IFL done the job beautifully. :thumb:
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks. I appreciate the feedback.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.