cloning/reboot question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by slippery_pete, Feb 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slippery_pete

    slippery_pete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I am trying to clone my laptop internal hdd to a larger hdd (currently accessible via an external usb case). When I run the disk clone and Acronis needs to reboot, my laptop wouldn't reboot.... it seems to get hung during the boot sequence.

    When I power down the laptop (by hitting the power button), and unplug the external hdd, it boots right up. If I plug in the external hdd again, XP finds and enables the usb device, but I still can't run the clone because my laptop won't reboot if that external hard drive is plugged in.

    I just can't seem to get my machine to reboot with it plugged in.

    Due to the size and speed of the hdd (60 gig - 7200rpm) I have the new hdd plugged into a powered usb hub.... my laptop usb ports don't have enough juice to support the new hdd (at least not as an external component).

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello slippery_pete,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build, which is available on our web site at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/. To get access to updates you should register your software first at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/registration/. Please disable any download managers, internet download/connection boosters, etc. before the download.

    Please check whether your laptop is able to reboot with the hard disk being plugged. What happens if you restart your computer without unplugging the external hard drive?

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. slippery_pete

    slippery_pete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    i have the current build (just downloaded and installed it fresh last night). I''m still having problems with the reboot.

    If I restart without unplugging the external hdd, the laptop seems to hang during the boot up. I've let it go for 20+ minutes and it won't seem to move.
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Until the reboot problem is resolved, here is something to try.

    Instead of cloning your hard drive to the new drive in the USB case, why don't you create a SecureZone on the USB drive and make an image of all the partitions on your laptop drive to that SecureZone. This can be done in Windows without rebooting.

    Put the new drive in your laptop, boot from the Acronis boot CD and restore the images of all the partitions in the SecureZone to the drive adjusting the partitions sizes to fit the new drive. Remove the boot CD and reboot.

    I think, you will have your system completely transferred to the new drive. Any senior members know if this will work?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello slippery_pete,

    Does you computer hang when you restart it manually without using Acronis True Image? If so it seems to be the problem with your laptop rather than with Acronis True Image and the workaround John has proposed will be perfect for you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  6. slippery_pete

    slippery_pete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    i'll try anything at this point.... can you walk me through how to do this?
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Just make sure not to activate the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager. It's likely to baulk if it doesn't find the SZ at the location it was originally created i.e. external USB drive.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.