Cloning & File System

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tigrphan, Apr 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tigrphan

tigrphan Registered Member

I'm a newbie to cloning and this forum.

I've already purchased the full True Image 8.0, but haven't installed it yet. I'm running Windows 2000 Pro on a Dell Inspiron 4000 notebook with a 10 gig hard drive.
    I have bought a Hitachi 40 gig, 5400 rpm drive which I want to use as the primary drive.

In reading the posts in this forum, I'm now concerned about a smooth transition. I simply want to clone my 10 gig to the 40 gig, install the 40 gig back in the notebook and use the 10 gig as a USB2.0 external drive for additional storage.

Should I have concerns? This is my only / main computer for work, can't afford to be without it for days at a time. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

One last question, can I clone the 10 gig drive as FAT32 to a single partition 40 gig NTFS drive, or do I need to keep them both FAT32?

Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions.

2. AlexF

AlexF Registered Member

I'm also a newbie... I would like to extend the above question - is it possible to clone an existing (Win2K) partition onto another partition on another disk (containing more partitions)? Would Windows boot from its new location without problems?

Last edited: Apr 6, 2005
  3. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello tigrphan and AlexF,

Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

When you clone disk or restore image the target disk (or partition) is deleted first. So there is no NTFS partition any more cause it is replaced with the FAT32 partition.

Please note that Acronis True Image can clone only disk to disk. You cannot clone a disk to a single partition on another one.

Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman

4. Dodsy

Dodsy Registered Member