Cloning disk but can not change partition on new disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ChristerTX, Apr 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ChristerTX

    ChristerTX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    I'm cloning a disk that have 20gb as C partition and 90gb as D partition.

    I do the manual mode where I want to create bigger partitions on the new 150 GB disk, but I can not increase partitions beyond what Acronis have set.
    Acronis seems to use the same relations between C and D as on the old disk.
    So on the new 150Gb drive I can not have bigger C partition than 27Gb. I can REDUCE it but I would like to increase it but the program does not allow me to do that.

    Why is that?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    What version and build number of True Image are you using?
     
  3. ChristerTX

    ChristerTX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Im using version 9,0 , build 2,289
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Try the latest build of the trial version of version 10. Even that build of version 9 is not the latest for that version.
     
  5. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Acronis automatically sets the partition sizes proportionally to the size of the new disk. Try decreasing the size of the largest 90GB partition first. Not sure of that will work. I also second DwnNdrty's suggestion of updating the V9 build to either 3677 or 3854. I'm not sure that the trial version of TI10 will make nay difference here.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I attempted to use TI9 to modify some partition sizes during a clone (not all proportionally) and found it very confusing. Ended up restoring C to the new drive, used XP Disk Management to set up the others and then copied the files from old to new.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ChristerTX,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please see chapter 12.4 "Cloning with manual partitioning" of the respective User's Guide for instructions on how to change partition layout during cloning operation. Please notice that partition can only be enlarged into adjacent unallocated space, so to enlarge a partition you might need to reduce/move the neighbour partitions first.

    Please also notice that, as already mentioned in this thread, build 2,289 is very old one. Please download and install the latest build (3854) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. agedispo

    agedispo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Try running chkdsk /f on source drive before cloning. I had similar problem cloning smaller drive to new larger drive. Clone would copy exact size partition to new drive and leave rest of space unallocated. tried automatic and manual but nothing worked until I ran above command on sorrce drive before cloning.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.