Cloning 2 notebook HD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Notorious, Dec 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Notorious

    Notorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    i have to clone a notebook HD to a new one because the current one is dying... so i used ATI 8.0 since they say they can clone notebook HD, so i boot with my bootable ATI CD start the cloning process finish successfully. replace the old HD with the new one in notebook the HD is not bootable.... WHY ?

    the way i did it is i have connected the 2 HD in a PC using 2 3 1/2 converter the 2 HD are on the same channel
     
  2. A|ex

    A|ex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    when you say it doesnt boot, how far does it get before it no longer boots? you dont still have the convertor connected do you? check bios to see if its booting to right device
     
  3. Notorious

    Notorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    no when i connect the new freshlyt cloned HD in notebook it is not booting
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Notorious,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Could you please describe at what point the boot process stops when you unplug your old drive and plug the new one?

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    I answered this type of question for laptops before. Try search.
     
  6. Notorious

    Notorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    7

    i did try search and found nothing... could you please point to the link please
     
  7. Notorious

    Notorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    the old is still working no problem... but the new one when i'm done with the cloning, i hook it up in the notebook, power up the notebook, it boot but doesn't even get to windows
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Notorious,

    Could you please tell at what point exactly does the boot process stop? Do you see only the black screen or there appear some strings such as BIOS post and so on? There should be some for the first boot stage doesn't depend on hard drive.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  9. Notorious

    Notorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Bios is poosting then the screen goes blank and there is a cursor at top left corner
     
  10. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
  11. Notorious

    Notorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    finally worked :)
     
  12. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Thanks for reporting your success, so few do that I am thinking of moving on from this forum.
     
  13. Notorious

    Notorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    for some reason it worked when i did select Automatic.... instead of manual...weird
     
  14. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi beenthereb4,

    I agree. Reporting back not only helps the person providing the advice but also other users with similar problems too.

    Anyway, I hope you don't abandon ship as this forum needs you!!

    Regards
     
  15. hgratt

    hgratt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Posts:
    113
    I also agree. You and others do a great service for people like me who read this board on a steady basis in order to accumulate information and knowledge.

    Please hang in there!

    Harvey
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.