Clone will not boot

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by acronisnumbskull, Nov 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acronisnumbskull

    acronisnumbskull Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hello, I have cloned my HD to an external USB HD with Acronis True Image Home 10 (15 dya trial), but when I try to boot from it I get a black screen with this message:

    "We apologize for the inconvenience but Windows did not start succesfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this."
    Then it gives me a choice of trying to boot in Safe mode, Safe mode with networking...ect. But all choices lead to the same message above. Any idea on what I might try? Thanks.

    Ps. I did go into BIOS and changed the Hard disk boot priority to boot from the USB HD
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    While your hardware may support booting from a USB drive, Windows XP does not.
     
  3. acronisnumbskull

    acronisnumbskull Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Wonderful, anyway thanks.
     
  4. Peter Ward

    Peter Ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    According to Microsoft, Windows cannot be booted from a USB drive, but I have found a way around it (or found somebody else who has!).

    Check this link http://www.ngine.de/index.jsp?pageid=4176

    It describes very clearly how to rebuild a Win XP install disk with USB support. You must then install to your USB drive.

    It was a piece of cake and works perfectly.

    Pward
     
  5. Peter Wilding

    Peter Wilding Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    All that said guys.

    I've had the same problem cloning my C: drive and it's hanging just like this guys.

    I've tried it on both machines and it won't restore either to the C: drive on a normal image backup. Still get bank screens and hangs.

    Personally, I think version 10 is full of issues and bugs and really should not be used.

    ~Non-support related comment removed. - Ron~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 24, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.