clone sata to pata

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by chrislsh, Dec 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrislsh

    chrislsh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I have SATA HD with 2 partitions and 40G each. One is WinXP and other is data. I have PATA HD with 2 partition and 80G each.

    I use Ghost 2003 partition->partition to clone my WinXP from SATA to PATA partition. The clone process is completed successfully. However I am unable to start up the PATA's WinXP.

    I tried to use WinXP installation CD to repair my O/S in PATA partition but failed. It failed when require to restart after copy all files to harddisk.

    Does anyone have any idea on restart the above PATA WinXP?

    Thanks in advance for all your inputs.

    Regards,
     
  2. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
  3. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    530
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    With the caveat that I have no experience with Ghost 2003, I typically image a SATA's contents to a PATA drive and have no problem restoring that image back onto a SATA drive,

    However, I wouldn't expect a system partition/drive that was cloned from SATA to PATA (or vice versa) to boot - because Windows needs different configurations and drivers for SATA and PATA!
     
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Instead of cloning disk to disk use an image to restore to the other disk and it should boot.

    When I have cloned a disk in the past that wouldn't boot I would boot from a win98 boot floppy and at the A prompt type "fdisk /mbr" , no quotes and space between fdisk(s)/.

    Or you can boot from the XP cd and use the FIXMBR command.
    Best Ghost Forum
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    chrislsh,

    Immediately after completing the clone, do you remove the old HD before attempting to boot to the new HD? Have you altered the BIOS to boot from the PATA HD?

    Did you clone to a partition or to unallocated space?

    What boot error do you see?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.