Clone or Migrate an IDE drive to a SATA drive?

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by GideonD, Aug 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    I have an old Dell Dimension 8300 with some important info on it. I'm still using it for business purposes until I get my new PC built later this year. It is currently running two IDE drives, the first one partitioned into a 60GB boot partition and a 60GB storage/game partition. The other drive is pure storage. At this point I'm having a single bad sector on the primary drive. I know exactly where it is and what file is affected (a photo I am not concerned about.) I'd like to clone the drive to a new one before it has any other errors. Drive Backup will not give a successful backup due to this error. It locks up 9 seconds from completion each time.

    I have a 500GB SATA drive on hand and the 8300 does have a SATA controller on board. I'm wondering if it is possible to clone the IDE drive directly to the SATA drive outside of Windows XP (the 8300 evidently can't make use of the SATA drive unless it is the boot drive so I can't do this inside of Windows.) I have tried to preinstall the Promise FastTrack S150 Tx2 drivers (which I believe are the correct drivers for this system) to the current install of windows to avoid any potential SATA driver errors.

    Does this have any chance of working or will I have issues since I don't currently have XP installed on a SATA drive?
     
  2. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    About bad block:
    Please try to use HDD Vendors' special utility to mark this block as 'do not use'. Then backup should work correctly.
    Also, run CHKDSK /f and CHKDSK /r . It also could help to fix it.

    You can try to Copy IDE HDD or one partition from it after checks. It should work. You can try to use RAW HDD Copy. Please perform Copy from Paragon Recovery CD, as it is more safe for data.

    As of migration from IDE to SATA:
    Paragon has special wizard for such situations: "P2P Adjust OS" or Adaptive Restore (http://www.paragon-software.com/business/adaptiverestore/)
    It allows to add missing drivers (e.g. for CHIPSET or HDD controller) to copied/restored to new hardware Windows.

    This feature is included in following products:
    Drive Copy 10 Personal (http://www.paragon-software.com/home/dc-personal/)
    Hard Disk Manager 2010 Suite (http://www.paragon-software.com/home/hdm-personal/)
    Hard Disk Manager 2010 Professional (http://www.paragon-software.com/home/hdm-professional/)
    Partition Manager 11 Professional (http://www.paragon-software.com/home/pm-professional/)
    Backup & Recovery 10 Suite (http://www.paragon-software.com/home/brs/)
     
  3. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    I have run the Western Digital diagnostic inside of Windows and it finds an error. It tries to fix it and fails. I ran I had previously run CHKDSK at boot and it found the file that was effected and fixed it. The error on the drive still remained. Last night I ran the WD Diagnostics from a diskette and it found no error, but it still finds an error when scanning from inside Windows and will not back up. I have tried to backup from bootable CD with no success as well.

    Thanks for the input.
     
  4. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,285
    Another possibility is to create an image using O&O DiskImage. This program as an option "Ignore and automatically skip bad sectors during read procedure".
     
  5. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    I may have to look into that. I have an Acronis boot disk as well I may try. Since Paragon cannot do a successful backup right now is it safe to assume it won't clone either?
     
  6. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    I used the Paragon Hard Drive Manager 2010 WinPE boot cd I had from work and did a successful backup. Now I scan inside of Windows with the WD diagnostics utility and no errors are shown. Could something driver or software related have caused the error instead of it being a physical error? This makes no sense now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.