Clone old drive to new larger drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by matt_r, Dec 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matt_r

    matt_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I am trying to clone an 80GB drive that is my boot drive for Windows XP (C:) to a new drive that is 150GB. I want to end up with a new drive that I can boot and will have a single partition of 150GB.

    The issue I am running into is that Acronis True Image Home 10.0 (Build 4,871) will only allow the creation of an 80GB partition on the new cloned drive, even if I try to manually adjust the partition size.

    Isn't there a way for it to clone the drive to a larger partition on the new drive and allocate the additional space as unused?
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Look at this post from Menorcaman https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=769388&postcount=5. It refers to V9.0 but V10 should be similar. I've followed it and it does work.
     
  3. matt_r

    matt_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    The mesage you refer to deals more with saving an image and restoring it rather than using the "Clone Disk" functionality. I would prefer to use Clone Disk to do this, if possible.
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    This process will give you exactly what you want. Lots of people report issues with the Cloning process. If you're using cloning TI should give the option to clone "proportionally". This is supposed to happen automatically in the "Automatic" option. Try the manual cloning method. I've used both methods successfully. You may want to read the user guide to understand what's happening. Read chapter 13 http://download.acronis.com/pdf/TrueImage10.0_ug.en.pdf. I'm assuming you have the new drive installed in your machine as slave drive before you start the cloning process. Here is another link for a very detailed set of steps. http://www.acronis.com/enterprise/company/inpress/2006/06-15-1ati.html.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.