Clone a Partition?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by poppies, Oct 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poppies

    poppies Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Is there anyway to clone only one partition to another drive. I have 5G hard drive that I want to just put one OS on, but since I have added so much stuff to the main hard drive, it is too big for cloning the normal way.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    poppies,

    Create a partition image of your C: drive to somewhere on your large HD. You can even write it to the C: drive. Install your 5 GB HD as Master, large HD as Slave. Using the TI CD, restore the image. Remove the slave HD before booting to the 5 GB HD.

    Is the C: drive on your large HD in partition 1? If not you may get a hal.dll error when you first boot but that should be easy to correct.
     
  3. poppies

    poppies Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    OK, that makes sense. Put the 5G to where you restore to it.

    Anyway to do this with a USB drive (I have a USB case) so that I don't have to open up the computer. Seems like I can't boot from a USB, but not sure.

    Thanks
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    No, you can't boot from a USB external HD.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Well I'm confused by this talk of cloning part of a drive. Cloning is an entire FDD operation; it takes the entire source Fixed Disk Drive content and copies it to another FDD.

    One can make images (backups) of one or more of the partitions on a drive, including the system drive/partition and then restore to the same or another FDD.

    sh
     
  6. gbarlow

    gbarlow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    St George, Utah
    You can clone an individual partition. You do not need to clone the entire hard drive. In fact, you can clone an individual partition and have it clone onto the same drive as the source. Cloning is just a utility to copy an individual partition to some unallocated space big enough to contain it. You can clone more than one partition at a time if you want to. The clone function in ATI works like the Copy Partition function in Disk Director Suite or PartitionMagic. You are not locked into cloning the entire hard drive although this is the way most users would do a clone. Hope this helps.
     
  7. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Please post step by step instructions on how you would only clone 1 partition of a 2 partition HD.
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, gbarlow

    Welcome to Wilders,

    I would also like to know how that is done with Ti.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Well, I for one am tired of holding my breath. :gack:
    I was hoping to learn something new (or not). :cautious:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.