Cleaning Infections

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by ecordle, Mar 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    I have Identified an 'infection' in the Registry :mad:
    I can't Delete it manually can anyone help me?
    please!
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    ecordle,

    Could you provide some more info (Operating System, software used to determine what you have found, full path?

    After providing this info consider these instructions as well.

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    I am running Windows XP. I found the 'parasite' using a free version of SpyHunter (no removal tool) It is found in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software.
    I Hope this helps, I cant stand these spy programs!!
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,452
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Click on the "these instructions" above and follow instructions given there.

    HTH....

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  5. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Ad-aware seemed to do the job but I want to load Spybot as well for added peace of mind in the future. The first time I loaded it, It froze up tring to download the latest updates, and now whenever I open it, Spybot flashes briefly on the screen but dissapears and i can't use it. I have tried downloading it from different sites after uninstalling it but nothing seems to work.
    Can you help me... again... Please?!? o_O
     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,452
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi ecordle,

    Try what is on this page and see if it helps.....

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  7. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Once again, Thanks!!!! :D

    Problem sorted!
    Gratefully Ed

    :) :D ;)
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,452
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    ecordle,

    Glad to hear your problems are solved :D !!!

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  9. Moore

    Moore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    land of ?z
    better stick to the real spyware removers , spyhunter is just a spybot ripoff. :D

    http://forums.net-integration.net/index.php?showtopic=11043
    http://tired-of-spam.home.comcast.net/internet.html
     
  10. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Thanks Moore,

    I found Spyware that had been on my computer for ages and gone unnoticed by Spyhunter, I wish I had found this site months ago!!

    I am now trying to find if there are any good Virus/trojan/worm Defense/Removal programmes available? or does Ad-aware or Spybot find these?

    Excuse my ignorance, I'm new to all this!!! :doubt:

    Any adviceo_O o_O
    Thanks

    Ed
     
  11. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hi ecordle :)

    Take a look at this link,

    http://www.wilders.org/free_tools.htm

    Lots of excellent paid and free programs.

    Hope this helps. ;)



    snowbound
     
  12. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Hi Snowbound

    Sorry, more problems! :(
    I took a look and downloaded DLExpert. Then TDS3.

    After installing these, I found I could connect to the internet but not access a single page because they timed out every time i tried. I had to do a system restore after which, I could access the internet no problem.

    Any Ideas as to what the problem is? and is it safe to try installing these programs again? o_O

    Thanks :D
    Ed
     
  13. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    hmmm.... i'm not sure why that happened ecordle. :doubt:

    We have a forum here for TDS so the best thing to do is open a new thread here,

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/index.php?board=5

    and post your question. :)

    There is excellent dedicated moderators over there that will be happy to help u.

    As for the other program, sorry iam not familiar with that one.

    Hopefully someone will come along with more info on that app. ;)



    snowbound
     
  14. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I forgot to mention,

    make sure u mention about downloading DLExpert also if u decide to post at the DCS forums. ;)



    snowbound
     
  15. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Hi Snowbound :)

    Thanks, I will open a new thread where you suggested.

    Thanks for the quick response!!
    Keep Up the good work.

    Ed ;)
     
  16. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Your Welcome ecordle :)




    snowbound
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.