Classic Shell - updates and discussion

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by FanJ, May 23, 2016.

  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,933
    Site: http://www.classicshell.net/

    Downloads: http://www.classicshell.net/downloads/

    Forum: http://www.classicshell.net/forum/

    History: http://www.classicshell.net/history/
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,933
    The latest stable version of Classic Shell is 4.2.5c

    The latest beta version of Classic Shell is 4.2.7

     
  3. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,173
    I tried to install 4.2.5c over 4.2.5 but to no avail because it couldn't install the same version. So I installed 4.2.7 and all is fine.
     
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,088
    Classic Shell v4.3.1 Released (August 12, 2017)
    Website
    Changelog / Detailed Changelog
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,938
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Thanks. I like me some Classic Shell.
     
  6. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,624
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  7. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,173
    Thanks for the heads up! As I opted out the update module during the very first installation of CS I'm not getting the updates automatically.
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,088
    :thumb:
    This is much better
     
  9. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296
    Best open source start menu replacement for Windows 7+ ever made.

    If you hated the Windows 7 start menu, the lack of a start menu in Windows 8 and the Microsoft clumsily designed Windows 10 start menu, you'll appreciate Classic Shell.

    I have the Windows XP start menu set up. Best start menu Microsoft ever made and for some reason, they trashed it. A classic interface brings back the familiar Windows look and feel to later versions of Windows.

    Can't live without it.
     
  10. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,624
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Classic Shell FAQ
    Is Classic Shell open-source?
    Versions before 3.9.0 are open-source.
    Starting with version 3.9.0, Classic Shell is no longer open-source.
     
  11. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    548
  12. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    419
    :(
    Are there any good alternatives?
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
    I use Start10 by Stardock. It's not free, but it only costs $5 US. It works very well and they keep it up to date.

    https://www.stardock.com/products/start10/
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
  14. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    419
    Thanks for the info. Sounds like a good alternative.:thumb:
     
  15. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,088
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
    One reason I like Start10 is its very configurable and can be skinned. I use it along with Stardocks' WindowBlinds which integrates with Start10. The most important thing though is Stardock has kept Start10 compatible with Windows 10 through the ongoing OS updates including the Insider builds.
     
  17. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    419
    This is exactly what I find very imporant - active development and compatibility with ongoing Win 10 updates. I will give it a try when I'm back home.
     
  18. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,173
    It's sad that CS development has been abandoned. Anyway I will keep it using unless an incompatibility or any other trouble will make it unusable.
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,883
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    As long as current versions work with Win 8 it's cool. But I suppose with future versions of Win 10 it might stop working, which is a bummer.

    Does indeed seem to be a good alternative. It is kind of shocking that the standard Start Menu has become such a mess, how one earth did M$ managed to ruin it.
     
  20. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    419
    I've just bought and installed Start10. I do like what I have seen so far. Again, thank you very much for your brilliant suggestion, @Victek .
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
    :thumb:

    By the way there are many cool replacement Start buttons at wincustomize.com for Start10

    https://www.wincustomize.com/explore/start_buttons
     
  22. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,116
    I'm using StartIsBack++ and it is excellent. I actually prefer to use the native Windows 10 Start Menu, but recently it started playing up and not opening at times.

    I tried Classic Shell and several other alternatives, but none of them worked well on my computer, which I believe is due to having hundreds of programs installed. However, StartIsBack works very well, and costs just $2.99.
     
  23. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,173
  24. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    124
    I only use Classic Shel to costumize Taskbar (classic taskbar).

    Is it possible to do that with WindowBlinds?

    Thanks.


    classico2.jpg
     
  25. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. There are numerous WindowBlinds skins and they all change the taskbar along with window borders and other elements. You can install a free trial and check it out:

    https://www.stardock.com/products/windowblinds/
     
Loading...