Clarification about Prevx1

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Gen, Jan 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gen

Gen Registered Member

Hello everyone, first post ever here.
    I would like to ask a question about Prevx1, a program i do not use yet as i'm using Geswall.
    If i understood well, Prevx1 scans by using its online database and a behaviour analysis, so technically behaviour analysis could be used against unknown malaware?
    If it's the case, then i cannot explain why it 'missed' 5 threats in the AV-comparative chart. I mean even if they were not in the online database, the behaviour analysis should have caught them. Missing something?

Thanks.

2. jlo

jlo Registered Member

Hi,

I am not an expert with Prevx1 but from what I understand if you do a manual scan from Prevx it will verfy the files to see if they are known malware on the comunity database.

The Bahaviour/heuruistic stuff does not kick un untill you run the file on the computer. If the file has never been seen you will see a box stating (File not seen before are you sure you want to run the computer) before Prevx allows it to run. Then the behaviour blocking kicks in.

I think that is how it works but sure someone else will be along to clarify.

Cheers

Jlo

3. Longboard

Longboard Registered Member

Short answer: No
    Read the whole report from AVC
    Having seen the malware PX blocked them next time around and they responded well to the results of that test.

AFAICR there were some threads at CastleCops Prevx forum about those results with really less than illuminating replies.
    Prevx is still evolving. The concept seems good.
    Free trial unlimited trial till malware found.
    no real incompatabilities mentioned yet,
    plenty of criticism of their detection rates
    bold marketing claims
    Very responsive support

Could be a great app.
    I have it on board.
    Watching and waiting. :)

4. Vikorr

Vikorr Registered Member