CIS v 4.1.150349.920 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by andyman35, Jun 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Just updated today.
    No changelog as yet however the SandboxIE incompatibility has been fixed.
     
  2. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    They never give us a break of few months.
     
  4. Yeah... they work there ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ lol ;) (non sarcastic)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2010
  5. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Got the same problems as before after using this version for a while. After starting programs once, or more like running a boot for a while, they won't start again. As long as I keep my software running, I've no problems. When this symptom has started, I can't open any files, any programs, or view Add/Remove Programs for example to get rid of CIS (make my system function again). That requires a reboot and immediate action from me.

    EDIT: Something which haven't happened in previous builds... now that I got the symptoms and start Add/Remove Programs, I get an error window which says this:

    Error loading C:\WINDOWS\system32\shell32.dll

    Access is denied.


    The window title is "RUNDLL".


    Now, I happen to have modified system-files, to make my OS look like Mac OS X Leopard. Might the modified system-files be something that CIS silently gets alerted on and as a result blocks pretty much anything from operating? I think we need a developer in here...


    BTW, in previous builds I could start Add/Remove Programs, view the list, but not execute any uninstallation file as they're executables.


    For the time that I didn't notice the for me well-known problems I noticed that CIS is producing a big load of pop-ups, both from the FW and D+, as if the software didn't have any white-list at all. That's the reason I disabled those features in the previous v4 builds and only used the Sandbox, but I wanted to give D+ in particular another chance now that I tested again to see if they finally got their database in good shape - guess they didn't - and I who was hoping I'd be able to be protected against all sorts of logging without being bombarded by pop-ups...
     
  6. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    Sorry man, something is wrong on your side. I'm running latest CIS at home on Seven x64 and at work on XP x32 SP3 and I don't have any issues or unnecessary popups.
    Proactive, FW and D+ Safe Mode and Sandbox enabled.
    Maybe you're right and this is the culprit
     
  7. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Testing around with a Windows 7 Transformation Pack SINCE now I can test how CIS reacts when I tell it to trust the pack, even if it (obviously) didn't recognize this pack, which is dated nov 2009 BTW. Now when running with this pack, trusting it with CIS as said, it still doesn't recognize ANY software from what I've noticed. It doesn't recognize MS Paint! :mad:


    EDIT: I recall having these problems on other installations (reformats) of Windows too - I got no idea what's going on since other security software is acting weird too, but I'm pretty tired of not being able to feel secure because the security software I wanna use doesn't want to work.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  8. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    I have not experienced any of the issues that you mention but I am sure that in comodo forums will provide you a better help than here.
     
  9. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    I know, but just to make this clear again for all of you: I'm not gonna register at their forums as I would not be active there. I won't register at a place where I won't be active. Wilders is enough for me. End of story.
     
  10. timestand

    timestand Former Poster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Posts:
    172
    If every feel like you with sandboxie, tzuk will be out business ok? common sense tell us get more support if post on developer forum. Ok?
     
  11. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Is this getting into a moral discussion? I'm sorry, but I can't take your post personal and don't want to either. Bye
     
  12. ace55

    ace55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    91
    Expecting security software to work properly when you have performed any such modifications is unrealistic.
     
  13. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Well why now if it's not happened before and I've modified my system for at least half a year while using the same security software?
     
  14. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    I moderate over there so if you like I'll pass on your problems to the forum.
     
  15. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Raven, I had this problem a long time ago with Comodo FW 3..... It also taxed the CPU like mad. It had to do with something called BricoPack. This changes system files to make your old OS look like a Mac or Win7 etc.... I never had a resolution to this and subsequently left Comodo for some other FW/Hips at the time. However, on my Win7 64 OS I have it running perfectly but with no BricoPack installed.

    Ice
     
  16. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    Then unistall comodo and try with another software because as you can see we can not help you here with this specific issues. End of story.
     
  17. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Yep, your comment is offensive IMO, but thanks to IceCube (thank you), it's confirmed that it's related to modified system-files in some way at least. Luckily I've been able to accept the Classic look by now and hence my system will run super-fast at all times, and even more so when I finally got the money to rebuild my system and throw out the corrupted garbage. Right now my system, which was built for gaming, is only able to run with 1GB of RAM for various reasons.

    FYI I wouldn't even be writing here if things weren't weird; see my post right before this one. I always go on logic, and since this goes against it, I'm writing.




    EDIT: Andyman, thanks for your offering. You can simply report that CIS gets serious problems when the system-files are modified to provide a different UI.

    Here are some that comes to mind:


    Different Brico Packs. Search for Brico Pack on Google and the first site you'll see is CrystalXP.

    I'm using a Brico Pack called Leopard XP. It can be found on this link: http://leopardxp.en.softonic.com/

    FlyakiteOSX - this is the one I used first and one which I still combine when making my Windows look like a Mac. I combine it with Leopard XP.

    Seven Transformation Pack - from Windows X Live. Homepage: http://www.windowsxlive.net/
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
  18. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Yeah they have some pretty cool looking themes at Bricopack.I'll pass on your issue and post back if there's a response/workaround.
     
  19. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    If it may be useful, I've used all CIS versions with Brico Packs of CrystalXP for two years without any problems.
     
  20. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I'm really liking this new version. I've been away from CIS for quite a while. Couldn't take all the pop ups. That seems to be a thing of the past. Also runs light and fast. I think I finally have a keeper. Good job Comodo.
     
  21. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Great video , featuring Melih :)

    Comodo CEO Melih Abdulhayoglu explains the technology behind Comodo Internet Security. Learn what makes Comodo’s Default Deny Technology™ superior to legacy antivirus.

    -http://www.comodo.tv/home-computing/what-makes-comodos-technology-superior/-
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 11, 2010
  22. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Impressive skills at presenting - kudos for that. :thumb:
     
  23. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Yep, Interesting fellow :shifty:

    Judging by his look & behaviour , I wouldn't say he's malicious or to be someone who means harm to people that are using his products :D
    I really don't know about other Comodo products , but for a free one CIS is pretty good and it's going in right direction to be even better :thumb:
     
  24. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075

    Wonder if all the walls at Comodo are that lovely red. :D
     
  25. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I found this theme , like it very much :)
    Here are some screens :
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 12, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.