chrome won't launch under WSA

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by layman, Jan 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    On just one of 5 machines, I've got a problem where chrome fails to launch properly so long as WSA is enabled. I've uninstalled and reinstalled both pieces of software, but the problem persists. When WSA is enabled, chrome's debug.log shows failure to load chrome.dll (access denied) and inability to find the exported function RelaunchChromeBrowserWithNewCommandLineIfNeeded.

    Any ideas of how I might resolve this? It's only happening on the one machine.
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm unable to reproduce this here (typing this message in Chrome). Could you try rebooting?
     
  3. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    The machine has been rebooted numerous times since I became aware of the problem.

    One thing I have not checked (the machine is in use browsing with IE) is if Identity Protection plays any role. I continue to experience problems with that feature, e.g. it causes the numeric keypad to behave as if NumLK is off in certain conditions on XP.
     
  4. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    The problem is not manifesting on any other machine. This particular one is running Windows 7 Pro (x64) SP1.

    I have established that the problem is, indeed, Identity Protection. As I said before, I am having several problems with this feature.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have you tried to reset Chrome to default and or disable all add-ons and turn one on at a time?

    TH
     
  6. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    Yes, but it makes no difference when chrome is at default settings. There is only one add-on and it is disabled. With IP off, chrome launches normally. With IP on, Process Hacker shows chrome.exe appearing briefly and then going poof.
     
  7. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    I notice that this machine has an unusually large number of entries for chrome under Application Protection. chrome.dll is marked 'deny' and changing that to 'protect' causes chrome to launch normally. There are many entries for both chrome and IE on this machine, many referring to nonexistant temp directories. I've removed those entries.
     
  8. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Double-check for that chrome.dll in the scan logs. If it's listed as as opposed to [G], report it to Threat Research via Submit a Ticket because it's likely a fake Chrome.dll. If it's [G], you're likely fine and logs to figure out how chrome.dll got set to deny would be useful to support.
     
  9. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217


    It's [G]. Threat log is empty. Not sure where to find logs that would indicate how it got set to 'deny'.
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you write into our support team here: https://detail.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp They'll be able to look through your logs to hopefully correct it quickly.

    Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.