Chrome on linux.

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by The Red Moon, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I use google chrome browser on linux mint.Is this browser fairly secure on mint.?.Tend to be having slowdown issues with firefox so i switched to chrome and it runs just fine.

    On an extra note i clean chrome with history eraser after every browsing session.However i have bleachbit installed also and this finds chrome config data,im assuming i should leave this be...?

    Thanks.
     
  2. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    626
    Location:
    United States
    Chrome has a pretty strong sandbox in Linux. Type Chrome:sandbox into the address bar and see what pops up.

    You can get an up to date Chromium through an Ubuntu repository on Mint too.
     
  3. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    Or install Firejail and run the command: firejail --private-home=.config/ chromium. This way you are running Chromium within another sandbox and any all changes made within the sandboxed browsing session including extensions, history, favorites, Privacy/Content settings, etc... will be discarded when you close it.

    -https://l3net.wordpress.com/projects/firejail/#downloads

    There is a lengthy thread on firejail
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I use Chromium a lot on Ubuntu, I just have uBlock and WOT. Does anyone know if there is a current Flagfox equivalent for Chrome/Chromium?
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Correct CHROMIUM >>>>>>>>>>>> chrome.
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, I'm assuming the extension itself, if there is one, will run on either lol.

    Off topic, I tried LXLE on my old laptop after seeing it in your signature. I thought it was brilliant, unfortunately when I tried to install it my old Belnea had some hardware problems and wouldn't recognise the USB mouse (the track pad doesn't work) so I couldn't finish the installation. The laptop was knackered anyway. LXLE impressed me though.
     
  7. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Different Distros for different hardware. Some old laptops I have to try 6 or more to find one that works ootb.

    Weird though I made a backup LXLE LiveDVD of my ancient desktop with 17yr old hardware. And it works on my 3rd gen i5 laptop. Pretty unusual ime.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You win some, you lose some lol.
     
  9. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  11. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I don't know how "savvy" you are but I've come across quite a few reports of mishaps with bleachbit. If it has a "simulation" mode, I'd recommend using it if you decide you really need to use bleachbit.
     
  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I find BleachBit in User mode quite safe unlike Root mode.
     
  13. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    626
    Location:
    United States
    Bleachbit is like CCleaner right?
     
  14. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Yes, although more powerful IMO. It can do the same amount of damage as CCleaner with registry cleaning and winapp2.ini... But also cleans just about as thoroughly on Linux.

    The only reason I use it is to free disk space on my dynamically-allocated virtual machine before compressing it. Includes a free space wiper, so that prepares the VDI for compression.
     
  15. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    As mentioned, don't run Bleachbit willy nilly. As root, it ought to auto-rename itself to Aqua regia.
     
  16. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Bleachbit is fine. It's a great tool to recover space and let go useless junk files. I run bleachbit as normal user and root every once in a while, for several years now. Never a problem.
     
Loading...