Chrome noob here with a question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cruise, Aug 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Hi guys,

    Up to now I've never used any browser other than IE (currently IE10 on W7x64), but I finally decided to try Chrome. ;)

    Almost immediately I find (or should say 'can't find) a function that presents a serious limitation for me. In IE there's a 'Page' drop-down menu where I can select 'Send Link Via Email'. Clicking on it would open my default email client (MS Outlook) and automatically insert the link to the 'active tab' webpage. This feature is important to me - is there no similar function in Chrome? o_O

    Cruise
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013
  2. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
  3. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks moontan. Actually, I did search for an answer but didn't find this nifty solution, so in this instance you are a better friend than Google!

    PS. I find it difficult to understand why this isn't a standard feature in Chrome. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    After spending several hours with Chrome I must say I like it much better than IE. Too bad the IE 'baggage' (both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions that come with W7 x64) can't be removed! :doubt:

    Cruise
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    You need that to update Windows if I'm not mistaken. Better lock it up and leave it be.
     
  6. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Don't even try - believe me, I tried and was very sorry - had to completely reinstall Windows and still had IE...lol.
     
  7. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Hey guys, I just meant it's too bad that MS integrated IE into Windows (so that we can't remove it). I have no intention of trying and will just let it be. I might even need it if I find any website with which Chrome has difficulties. :doubt:

    Cruise
     
  8. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    Hey Cruise,

    This is just a suggestion (not to be construed as knocking Chrome) - you should checkout Firefox before settling on an IE replacement.

    TS
     
  9. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, I guess it can't hurt to try Firefox and compare it to Chrome. Thanks for the suggestion Shadow. ;)

    Cruise
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Only XP manual update, Vista and above uses Control Panel. 7 allows you to remove most of it except key components.

    @Cruise: There's probably an extension for that.
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I second that.:D

    Bo
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    I could swear I couldn't update when I removed access to IE when I was still on 7. The problem was resolved when I put it back. o_O
     
  13. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Well after 'playing' with Chrome and Firefox for a while I think I still prefer Chrome, although imho FF also beats IE. However, I'll hold onto FF for a while longer until I'm fairly certain that Chrome doesn't present any limitations (or glitches) for me.

    Btw, I'm not about to mess with IE's tight integration with Windows! - I'll just let it be.

    Cruise
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2013
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes, yes. We know that, don't worry... :D Anyway, hope you're happy with any of the choices.
     
  15. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    If you decided to use chrome go for opera !

    http://www.opera.com

    its the fastest of all "chrome" based browser !

    cheers :)
     
  16. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks GZ, and thanks to everyone who chimed-in, especially moontan who made my day with those 'Send Link' references!

    Cruise
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    glad to help! :)

    if i could install Ghostery or something similar in IE under Enhanced Protected Mode then i probably would use IE.

    i don't want to disable EPM just to install a plugin. o_O
     
  18. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't heard much about the new Opera. Since it uses the Chrome-engine, does it accept Chrome extensions?

    Does anyone here (besides demoneye) prefer the new Opera over Chrome?

    Cruise
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2013
  19. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Did you try to remove every trace of it? I wouldn't know if you did that, but "Turn Windows features on or off" shouldn't cause any such issue.
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    No I didn't. I just removed access from IE and I couldn't update. Unless that was a coincidence with other problem(s)? :doubt:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.