Christmas Desktop Theme 2004

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by the mul, Dec 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,704
    Location:
    scotland
    A Christmas desktop theme with new wallpaper, animated cursors, new icons, new sounds, and a 3D screensaver.

    Quick Info

    File Name: ChristmasTheme.msi
    Download Size: 11699 KB
    Date Published: 12/15/2004
    Version: 1.0

    System Requirements

    Supported Operating Systems: Windows XP

    Windows XP
    CPU >1.2 GHz,
    DirectX 9.0c compatible VGA card

    Download from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...55-288c-4c33-879f-b9ce7d5fb08c&DisplayLang=en

    THE MUL
     
  2. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Have you tried it yet?
     
  3. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    I tried it for almost half a day. The screensaver was brilliant, but it wouldn't switch off after the normal time.... or in fact any time!!! It just went on and on (and on and on) :eek:
    So regretfully uninstalled it.
     
  4. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    The Mul, Did you have any Problems?

    Jimbob
     
  5. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I didn't install this, I'm afraid it may take up too much system resources.
     
  6. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    What are you running, a calculator :D j/k

    Jimbob
     
  7. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    Just tried it. It works a treat, thanks. Will keep my little nephew entranced. (If you have ProcessGuard you need to allow Global Hooks).

    Brilliant, thanks again.
     
  8. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Why would this christmas desktop theme require Global Hooks? I won't allow global hooks for this kind of thing.
     
  9. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I was wondering the same question.

    Jimbob
     
  10. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    nadirah & Jimbob1989.

    Just telling you how ProcessGuard reacted. I had it in learning mode when I first ran the screensaver.
     
  11. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Strange o_O

    Jimbob
     
  12. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    There was a small thread about this here a couple of days or so ago
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,12132242~mode=flat

    The response to this seems to have been quite small, so I wonder if only a couple of us had this problem of the scrrensaver not switching off... it appeared to overide the power down settings.

    @bch. Is yours still behaving properly?
     
  13. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    That explains it, I think.

    Jimbob
     
  14. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    Hello Oremina,

    Yes, it's still okay. I've rebooted just to see that there were no problems on restarting. I don't have the monitor set to turn off, however, in power schemes, which is the problem that you are having I think.
     
  15. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    bch.. OK - thanks anyway for the reply. :)
     
  16. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I don't put mine in learning mode at all. If a screensaver needs global hooks, I would definitely say NO to it.
     
  17. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I though Learning Mode still asked you what you want to happen and just remembered it for later.

    Jimbob
     
  18. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    nadirah.
    Just to clear this up. Whenever I run a new programme, I always put ProcessGuard in learning mode. The alert I received from ProcessGuard stated that Santa was blocked from creating a global Low Level Mouse hook. (Presumably this is because the mouse pointer changes to a waving Santa). As PG was in learning mode, it allowed it even though it gave the "blocked" message in the balloon.

    The waving santa does get on your nerves a wee bit after a while so I've gone back to normality for the moment.
     
  19. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,704
    Location:
    scotland
    Sorry folks that I did not reply to this thread, as I did not notice all the replys that I got.
    I have not tried this theme out yet, but I might try It out in a few days time and I will let u know how I get on and if there are any issues with it as well.

    Your friend

    THE MUL
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.