Christmas Desktop Theme 2004

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by the mul, Dec 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    A Christmas desktop theme with new wallpaper, animated cursors, new icons, new sounds, and a 3D screensaver.

    Quick Info

    File Name: ChristmasTheme.msi
    Download Size: 11699 KB
    Date Published: 12/15/2004
    Version: 1.0

    System Requirements

    Supported Operating Systems: Windows XP

    Windows XP
    CPU >1.2 GHz,
    DirectX 9.0c compatible VGA card

    Download from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...55-288c-4c33-879f-b9ce7d5fb08c&DisplayLang=en

    THE MUL
     
  2. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Have you tried it yet?
     
  3. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    I tried it for almost half a day. The screensaver was brilliant, but it wouldn't switch off after the normal time.... or in fact any time!!! It just went on and on (and on and on) :eek:
    So regretfully uninstalled it.
     
  4. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    The Mul, Did you have any Problems?

    Jimbob
     
  5. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I didn't install this, I'm afraid it may take up too much system resources.
     
  6. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    What are you running, a calculator :D j/k

    Jimbob
     
  7. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    Just tried it. It works a treat, thanks. Will keep my little nephew entranced. (If you have ProcessGuard you need to allow Global Hooks).

    Brilliant, thanks again.
     
  8. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Why would this christmas desktop theme require Global Hooks? I won't allow global hooks for this kind of thing.
     
  9. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I was wondering the same question.

    Jimbob
     
  10. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    nadirah & Jimbob1989.

    Just telling you how ProcessGuard reacted. I had it in learning mode when I first ran the screensaver.
     
  11. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Strange o_O

    Jimbob
     
  12. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    There was a small thread about this here a couple of days or so ago
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,12132242~mode=flat

    The response to this seems to have been quite small, so I wonder if only a couple of us had this problem of the scrrensaver not switching off... it appeared to overide the power down settings.

    @bch. Is yours still behaving properly?
     
  13. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    That explains it, I think.

    Jimbob
     
  14. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    Hello Oremina,

    Yes, it's still okay. I've rebooted just to see that there were no problems on restarting. I don't have the monitor set to turn off, however, in power schemes, which is the problem that you are having I think.
     
  15. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    bch.. OK - thanks anyway for the reply. :)
     
  16. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I don't put mine in learning mode at all. If a screensaver needs global hooks, I would definitely say NO to it.
     
  17. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I though Learning Mode still asked you what you want to happen and just remembered it for later.

    Jimbob
     
  18. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    nadirah.
    Just to clear this up. Whenever I run a new programme, I always put ProcessGuard in learning mode. The alert I received from ProcessGuard stated that Santa was blocked from creating a global Low Level Mouse hook. (Presumably this is because the mouse pointer changes to a waving Santa). As PG was in learning mode, it allowed it even though it gave the "blocked" message in the balloon.

    The waving santa does get on your nerves a wee bit after a while so I've gone back to normality for the moment.
     
  19. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    Sorry folks that I did not reply to this thread, as I did not notice all the replys that I got.
    I have not tried this theme out yet, but I might try It out in a few days time and I will let u know how I get on and if there are any issues with it as well.

    Your friend

    THE MUL
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.