CHKDSK Problem with TI 11 (& 2009)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dcw, Jun 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    On reboot, after scheduling a full CHKDSK run on the C: drive of my Asus Laptop (running Vista), it complains "Cannot Open Volume for Direct Access".

    I have tracked this down to Acronis True Image V11 (latest build) by rebuilding the system starting from the Asus recovery partition and adding each application in turn, confirming that CHKDSK still works after each new addition.

    CHKDSK works fine untill I install TI 11 as the last package. I can reload a save that doesn't contain TI 11 (using a TI 11 Recovery disk, the save was also taken using a TI 11 recovery disk) and CHKDSK works OK on the recovered system. As soon as I install TI 11, it stops working.

    For good measure I tried installing a trial copy of TI 2009, and it caused the same problem.

    The system is very simple. It comprises:

    - Vista loaded from the supplied Asus hidden partition (fully patched).
    - Norton Internet Security 2009 (fully updated).
    - M/S Office 2007 (fully patched).

    I've tried disabling the Try & Decide & True Image schedule services and this makes no difference. Are there any other service that True Image installs that might be started early enough in the boot to lock the C: volume?

    Has anyone else come across this problem?

    Thanks for any help.

    Dave.
     
  2. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Dave I think that you have done a good job starting to isolate the problem.

    If completely uninstalling Acronis and then reinstalling it does not work then it will be harder to solve.

    I run the command "chkdsk /r " once a month on my hard disks which use ATI 2009 build 9709.

    The computer has to be rebooted so that the chkdsk can run. But it runs okay.

    Does chkdsk work with Norton loaded?
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  3. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Jehosophat

    Yes, it works fine as it is at present with Norton 2009 & Office 2007 loaded, with everything updated to the latest patches. As soon as I load True Image 11 or 2009, CHKDSK exhibits this problem.

    If I schedule a full CHKDSK run (including "Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors"), I get the message "Cannot Open Volume for Direct Access". If I don't include the bad sectors recovery nothing happens during reboot - CHKDSK just doesn't run.

    After appearing once, the "Cannot Open Volume..." message appears on all subsequent reboots.

    Haven't tried deinstalling True Image to see if the message disappears yet, I simply re-loaded a save taken before it was installed. I'll have another round of testing as soon as I get the chance.

    The first time I noticed the problem I ran CHKDSK successfully by booting from the Vista installation disk. Still got the CHKDSK error message on booting the full system though. After some Internet research, I concluded it must be one of the application packages loaded (I suspected Norton), so I rebuilt the system from scratch taking a save between each installation. The problem only returned when I added True Image.

    Thanks for the comments.

    Dave.
     
  4. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Just one other thing to mention. The Asus recovery version of Vista (Ultimate) includes a load of Asus applications that we don't actually use (haven't even looked to see what they do). Under the circumstances I can't seen that they could be implicated, but it might be worth deinstalling them anyway if I can.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    What about rebooting into Safe Mode (I assume Vista still has it)? This will keep a lot of stuff from loading that might be leaving a connection to the disk.
     
  6. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    I think I tried that at one stage, but without success. I'll give it another go when I get the chance.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dcw,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image 11 Home

    In order to investigate the issue please attach the following diagnostic information:

    - Download and unpack the Device Tree application:
    http://download.acronis.com/support/devicetree_Vista.zip
    - Run the application from "i386" folder (run the 64-bit version of Device tree from "x64" folder if you have Windows Vista 64-bit);
    - Completely unfold (click on all plus signs) the \Driver\partmgr and \Driver\volmgr branches;
    - Move the margin to the right in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot and send it to us.

    I may recommend you to temporarily disable Norton software and see if the issue persists. Let us know the results.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  8. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    I did a little more testing:

    - Starting from a normal running system, Norton installed & running.
    - Confirmed that CHKDSK still running OK by scheduling a check & rebooting.
    - Installed T.I. 11 Build 8101
    - Tested CHKDSK as above - failed as documented above.
    - Deinstalled True Image
    - Retested CHKDSK - now working OK.

    This just reconfirms that True Image causes the problem.

    Dmitry

    Do you want me to run the Device Tree application with or without True Image installed?

    I'll try repeating the above testing with Norton disabled if I can find out how to do so - it used to be easy in older versions, but not so easy now. Might have to de install it!

    Dave.
     
  9. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    A bit more testing seems to have narrowed down the causes:

    - Starting from a normal running system, Norton installed & running.
    - Confirmed that CHKDSK still running OK by scheduling a check & rebooting.
    - Installed T.I. 11 Build 8101
    - Tested CHKDSK as above - failed as documented above.
    - Disabled Norton - CHKDSK problem still present.
    - Deinstalled Norton - CHKDSK problem absent!
    - Reinstalled Norton - CHKDSK problem present.
    - Deinstalled True Image - CHKDSK problem absent.

    The conclusion appears to be that I can run either True Image or Norton without seeing the CHKDSK proble, but not both!
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dcw,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    It looks like incompatibility issue between Acronis and Norton drivers. In order to be sure please create Device Tree screen shot with both products installed.

    I may recommend you to try the following workaround:

    1) Uninstall both products
    2) Install Acronis True Image Home 2009 first
    3) Reboot
    4) Install Norton software
    5) Reboot

    Does the issue persist?

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  11. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    OK I'll do all that when I get the chance (tomorrow?).

    Dave.
     
  12. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Personally I would not have any Norton product on my computer.

    Norton was a great company in the days of Peter Norton.

    The current issue may not be Norton's fault at all, but just do a Google search on problems with Norton.
     
  13. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Dmitry

    I followed your instructions as follows:

    - Starting from a running system with Norton 2009 but no True Image.
    - Uninstalled Norton.
    - Installed True Image 2009 - CHKDSK working OK.
    - Installed Norton - CHDSK problem present.

    I have run the DeviceTree utility with both products loaded & now have a file showing the output. Where should I send it?

    Dave.
     
  14. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Dmitry

    Please advise where to send the DeviceTree listing.

    Thanks

    Dave.
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dcw,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image 11 Home

    Please attach Device Tree screen shot to your next reply. We are looking forward to hearing back from you at your earliest convenience.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  16. dcw

    dcw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Unfortunately I cannot post the file as it is of type XPS. It is the output from Print to File and can be viewed using an Internet browser. It would take far too much time to capture the 20 pages of output from your devicetree utility using screen capture & the resulting files would be much larger & more difficult to read.

    Best I could do is email them if you can provide an address.

    Dave.

    Edit: FAQ suggests that ZIP files might be allowed, but then contradicts itself. Anyway I tried that format and it wasn't accepted.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dcw,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image 11 Home

    I may recommend you to open support case using the following link

    Attach the requested information and link to this thread.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.