chinese-trad have problem

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by coafort, Aug 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coafort

    coafort Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    as pic

    http://photo.yam.com/user/04/f3/coafort/image/3130804.jpg
    http://photo.yam.com/user/04/f3/coafort/image/3130805.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    • LnS.JPG
      LnS.JPG
      File size:
      98.8 KB
      Views:
      473
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 29, 2006
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hello coafort,

    Would you mind explaining Please what your actual problem is as far as those pics are concerned. Are you having a problem with LNS and that flashFXP.exe file ?

    Bubba
     
  3. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    It seems coafort is saying that LnS has a problem in displaying the name of the path when the name of the path is in Chinese (Traditional).

    But it is a bit strange. On the official LnS web site, I can see that only Chinese (Simplified) version of LnS is available, but the screenshot showed that the UI of LnS is in Chinese (Traditional).

    If coafort is using the Chinese (Simplified) version of LnS, it maybe that the Chinese (Simplified) version of LnS has a problem in displaying Chinese (Traditional) characters.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 30, 2006
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Yes, this is a known issue.
    It is not linked to the localization plugin and .lng files, which are only about translating the application.

    The problem is in the driver when the pathname is detected.
    Currently Look 'n' Stop driver doesn't support UNICODE nor MCBS strings for the path of connecting applications. The problem is there.

    I've tried to fix the issue with a chinese user (by providing a new driver for tests), but unfortunately it didn't work. Further analysis/test/understanding is required.

    If you want to test this test driver:
    http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Beta/lnsfw1/

    I would like to know if there is a difference with this driver:
    - at the GUI level
    - in the console windows

    So, before using the new driver, you have to reproduce the issue with the application showing the issue. Then, open the console windows and ask for the driver logs. You will get something like:
    ...
    C:\WINNT\EXPLORER.EXEPC
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINNT\EXPLORER.EXEPC
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINNT\EXPLORER.EXEPC
    ...
    and you should have the pathname of the application showing the issueas interpreted by the driver.
    1st question: here in the consolen, does the pathname contain the same error as the one at the GUI level or are both strings are wrong and differents ?

    Then use the modified driver (save the old one in c:\windows\system32\drivers, put the new one at the same location and reboot).
    Same thing, reproduce the problem with the same application and open the console.
    2nd question: is there a difference at the GUI level (compared to the standard driver)
    3rd question: is there a difference at the console level (compared to the standard driver)
    4th question: is there a difference between GUI and console with this test driver.

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  5. ubuntu

    ubuntu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    China 中国
    Hi Frederic
    please upload this new driver in attach file . I can't download from that link. thx!
    I can test it.
     
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Here it is. (remove .txt).

    What kind of error do you have exaclty with the link ?

    Frederic
     

    Attached Files:

  7. ubuntu

    ubuntu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    China 中国
    Windows XP SP2 Chinese (Simplified) + LNS 2.05P3 standard driver

    1st question:the path name contain the same error as the one at the GUI level

    Windows Explorer:
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ubuntu6/test/explorer.jpg

    console:
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ubuntu6/test/console.jpg

    popup:
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ubuntu6/test/GUIpopup.jpg

    Application Filter:
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ubuntu6/test/AppFilter.jpg

    Windows XP SP2 Chinese (Simplified) + LNS 2.05P3 test driver

    2nd question: yes
    3rd question: yes
    4th question: no difference between GUI and console and both strings are wrong

    console test:
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ubuntu6/test/consoletest.jpg

    popup test:
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ubuntu6/test/Popuptest.jpg

    Application Filter test:
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j205/ubuntu6/test/Appfiltertest.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2006
  8. ubuntu

    ubuntu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    China 中国
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2006
  9. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi ubuntu,

    Thanks a lot for the string screenshots, it is very helpful.

    Something is strange is the 'K', just after "c:\Program Files\".
    My understanding is the chinese characters are encoded with 2 bytes, using a first special byte like E4, C0,... and a second byte.
    The problem is 'K' is not a special first byte, so I don't understand how it could work. Or perhaps I need to inverse the 2 bytes.

    Could you make a copy/paste of the folder name into a text file and send it to me (lnssupport@soft4ever.com), I would like to check the byte values.

    Perhaps I will need to create a new version to also display these bytes inside the console, to check what the driver gets exactly.

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  10. ubuntu

    ubuntu Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    China 中国
    Hi
    YES the chinese characters are encoded with 2 bytes
    I send a email to you , thx!
     
  11. lookcity

    lookcity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    China
    If the path of application named with Chinese ,the LNS cann't recognize the path correctly.
    This is well know.;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.