ChicaPC-Shield - MBAM for Ladies...

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by majoMo, Dec 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    ChicaPC-Shield PRO

    If you are interested to offer a woman-MBAM PRO, to your girlfriend/wife/mistress(es)/mom, in this Christmas season, it seems you have a chance now ...

    Giveaway today.

    Info

    ChicaLogic® 'About Us'

    ichito, Member Wilders Forums, posted about this MBAM for ladies here.
     
  2. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,060
    Location:
    Netherlands
    If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck . . . Would someone be so kind to inform RubbeR DuckY that the Chica license works on MBAM Pro as well.

    With these PUP warnings (forced by GPO in policies), I always picture a bunch of MBAM programmers having fun on April's fools day and randomly throwing in a few Ministry of silly talks warnings.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
  3. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,833
    Downloaded. Its a zip file. Extracted. Inside was a readme file. Copied the id & key & pasted into free MBAM & it worked.

    Readme file mention no future program upgrade. Lets wait & see if MBAM gets program upgrade?

    I guess it autoupdates but dont know the frequency? Does disable/remove schedule updates affects autoupdates?


    MBAM for Android is primary antimalware or like PC its complementary antimalware?
     
  4. woomera

    woomera Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    211
    rofl WTF...
     
  5. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    If you right click the .exe and Properties/Details/Language you'll find Chinese (Simplified, PRC)
     
  6. conceptualclarity

    conceptualclarity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    USA
    It is a rebranding of Malwarebytes Pro. Is that worth grabbing in a free giveaway?
     
  7. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,833
    I installed Chica & MBAM on the same system at the same time & used the same id & key in both & both successfully activated.

    More tools tab is not there in Chica.

    Chica seems little heavy than MBAM.
     
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,235
    It has always surprised me that a Malwarebytes allowed a company like ChicaLogic to rebrand their product.

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware really is an excellent product with excellent detection rates and virtually zero false positives. However I really can say nothing good about ChicaLogic, a company who rely on false claims to sell their products. Although they deny it, they are owned by SPAMfighter who surprisingly despite making an excellent anti spam program which you can get for free are a shady company who also believe in using false advertising to sell their products.
     
  9. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,235
    I'd stick with the original rather than th rebranded version put out by a rouge company.
     
  10. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,833
    Use the id & key with MBAM & you get MBAM Pro.
     
  11. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    700
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    ChicaLogic's ChicaPC-Shield has been a product of a legitimate Malwarebytes partnership since March of 2011.

    Please see Marcin's post:

    -https://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=78653#entry403456-

    HTH :)
     
  12. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Still silly. :rolleyes:
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    They have always ignored info about illegitimate keys. There was a list of probably several hundred keys on one site being given away and never a peep out of the folks at MBAM. They won't even respond to emails about such stockpile giveaways of illegit keys. Apparently the illegitimate keys remain working even after MBAM does their search for pirated keys at every update. The key issue has been going on for a while but seems to remain ignored. So much for security...
     
  14. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Thanks for the free license! Now I have one more security program running in the background. No it's not necessary, just within my interest. Yes my system is still running properly even after trying out test files.
     
  15. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    ChicaPC-Shield is great.

    It works similar to MBAM, but has more emotional ups and downs and is a little less logical. Additionally, it needs to be spanked occasionally for optimal performance.


    -ftp
     
  16. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Sweet thanks :D now my protection has been improved even more!
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    There must be better things we can give to a lady than this.
    And I am sure that the ladies like the original MBAM Pro too ;)
     
  18. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    OK for some reason real time on MBAM isn't working. I put the key in and have real time enabled, got some malware in sandboxie and nothing.
     
  19. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,060
    Location:
    Netherlands
    MBAM URL-filter seems to include latest indeed from several sources. File system seems to put in binary hex values for very recent, add/adjust fingerprints afterwards. Not a silver bullet, but then again what blacklist solution is? Pretty impressive one hour update for missed fresh samples with this combination of muscle and brain work.

    MSE scans my IE-downloads. Tested with 12 fresh samples. MSE missed 8. MBAM recognised 7 of these right away and caught the remainder after next data base update. The scan recognized intrusion in registry before data base update as a PUP. After data base update it also found two file remnants belonging to this fresh sample. It also classified malware sample correctly after db-update (Trojan not PUP).
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
  20. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Yeah, and once a month, you get BSOD :D
     
  21. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
  22. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Works for me with mbam free to pro... thanks op, very cool!
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,235
    Well, I registered MBAM and am now running the Pro version. I have protection disabled for now, but may enable it at some point, but will never use the website blocking option.

    I really like the flash scans which take well under a minute to complete.

    However, after registering it for free, I decided to actually buy a pro license. I have had intentions on doing so for a long time because it really is an excellent product and well worth supporting.
     
  24. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    I used the key to activate the free version I had already.
    So far I find MBAM real time to be impressively light, no difference in browsing the system or the web.
    I had just reinstalled the OS from scratch so I had no AV, maybe I'll keep it so, SBIE and MBAM.
     
  25. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Try -{J_L I had some other messages concerned about all the links in that site. So, to be fair I have removed it. The program J_L pointed to was called 'Spycar'. You now can search for it at your own pleasure. - TAS}

    To test website blocking: https://helpdesk.malwarebytes.org/e...fy-that-Malwarebytes-Anti-Malware-is-working-
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2013
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. FanJ
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    779
  2. NonGeek
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,669
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.