Checking downloads

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Minerone, Sep 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    How can I check any downloads the I make from the web with NOD32
     
  2. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Right clicking the file and selecting "scan with ESET...".
    If you have the web protection enabled it would be unnecessary.
     
  3. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    The files are checked by NOD32 when downloading.

    Example: if you try to dowload eicar, the dowload is blocked (eicar is safe, it is a test).

    After downloading, you can repeat a check "on demand" of course. Toxinon12345 has explained the method.

    Note: EICAR is a code corresponding to the level signature like a virus to test the antivirus. It is used to test the effectiveness of a virus protection: http://www.google.be/url?sa=t&sourc...sg=AFQjCNE0MFSi9Jy3y8EMz7v_OpMfCDzWsg&cad=rja
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  4. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    When I right click on a file I don't get 'scan with ESET' in the menu.

    When downloading how do i know that ESET is checking the download or is this automatically built in.
     
  5. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Tools-->Statistics

    select "Web access protection" in the menu.
     
  6. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Sounds like you may have a corrupted installation if this Context menu shell extension is not present, or you have Context menu integration disabled in the advanced setup tree.
     
  7. Wallaby

    Wallaby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    156
    I think he means that if he right clicks on the link he doesn't see "scan with ESET" (nobody does)
     
  8. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    he said the file not the link, but nobody see "Scan with ESET".
    We see "Scan with ESET... or "Scan with %PRODUCT_NAME%". Obviously that is different between languages.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
  9. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Problem solved. I didn't have Context menu integration enabled. I checked the box and restarted my computer and Scan with ESET NOD32 antivirus is now in the menu when I click a file. I did a quiet Yippee!:cool:

    Many thanks stackz and to everyone for your help and suggestions.
     
  10. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    I meant when I RIGHT click on a file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.