Checking downloads

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Minerone, Sep 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    How can I check any downloads the I make from the web with NOD32
     
  2. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Right clicking the file and selecting "scan with ESET...".
    If you have the web protection enabled it would be unnecessary.
     
  3. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    The files are checked by NOD32 when downloading.

    Example: if you try to dowload eicar, the dowload is blocked (eicar is safe, it is a test).

    After downloading, you can repeat a check "on demand" of course. Toxinon12345 has explained the method.

    Note: EICAR is a code corresponding to the level signature like a virus to test the antivirus. It is used to test the effectiveness of a virus protection: http://www.google.be/url?sa=t&sourc...sg=AFQjCNE0MFSi9Jy3y8EMz7v_OpMfCDzWsg&cad=rja
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2011
  4. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    When I right click on a file I don't get 'scan with ESET' in the menu.

    When downloading how do i know that ESET is checking the download or is this automatically built in.
     
  5. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Tools-->Statistics

    select "Web access protection" in the menu.
     
  6. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Sounds like you may have a corrupted installation if this Context menu shell extension is not present, or you have Context menu integration disabled in the advanced setup tree.
     
  7. Wallaby

    Wallaby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    156
    I think he means that if he right clicks on the link he doesn't see "scan with ESET" (nobody does)
     
  8. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    he said the file not the link, but nobody see "Scan with ESET".
    We see "Scan with ESET... or "Scan with %PRODUCT_NAME%". Obviously that is different between languages.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
  9. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Problem solved. I didn't have Context menu integration enabled. I checked the box and restarted my computer and Scan with ESET NOD32 antivirus is now in the menu when I click a file. I did a quiet Yippee!:cool:

    Many thanks stackz and to everyone for your help and suggestions.
     
  10. Minerone

    Minerone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    I meant when I RIGHT click on a file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.