Cheap decent protection?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by ziphnor, Apr 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ziphnor

ziphnor Registered Member

Hi,

Ive just recently given up on using windows for doing any serious work, im tired of using 10 programs just to ensure i wont get a virus/trojan or filled with spyware. Instead im using linux for anything serious, which is nice, mostly because its safe simply by being obscure :)
    However i still use windows for playing games and downloading stuff. And as everyone know, browsing and downloading all kinds of crap is a bit dangerous.

Im looking to protect my windows installation, in an inexpensive way, against most risks while not using too much CPU time on it(i dont care about memory, i have plenty of that, the progs can use 100MB ram if they like). Its also important that its mostly automatic and foolproof, im a Computer Science student, but i (unfortunately) dont have time to fiddle around with this stuff.

My PC is behind a NAT, so the need for a firewall is mostly as a protection against outbound connections from weird programs, ive used Sygate before, and its seems to be okay, and its free, so ill stay with that.

Im mostly concerned about AV/AT and Spyware protection, i like KAV, it has a nice interface and found alot of stuff that my previous free Avast didnt, including Trojans. On the other hand its kind of expensive (66$ for the pro version) and it does scan slowly and seem to hog system resources.

My primary questions is whether NOD32 + Trojan Hunter(TDS seems a bit over the top, both in resource usage and feature wise :) provides better trojan/general malware protection than just KAV by itself? (KAV + Trojan Hunter is more than im willing to pay). My secondary question is: Does it use more or less CPU time for resident scans?