Changing boot order

Discussion in 'hardware' started by chattycathy, Mar 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Hi everyone. I have finally taken the plunge and purchased a new HP Pavilion HPE h8-1360t Desktop PC with Windows 7. I would like to change the boot order in the bios but I can't get it to work. This is what I've done so far: hit escape and then the F10 key which brings me to the storage menu. Then I click on boot order. Then I find my cd drive and hit enter and move it to the number 1 boot order in the UEFI boot sources and the legacy boot sources. I go to the "save changes" and exit feature but it still won't boot from any cd before Windows loads up. I go back later and check and it is in the order I put it in but it's not working or I'm misunderstanding something and not doing it right. Does anyone have a clue as to what I'm doing wrong? Thanks for your time.

    P. S. If I sit there and watch for it and hit the correct button, it will boot to cd but I want it to do it without me having to make it manually.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013
  2. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I believe the ESC brings you to the temporary menu for boot. It is either F2 Key, or F10 Key or DEL Key alone by itself which brings one into BIOS.

    Best regards,
     
  3. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Can you try to do the following: turn off the laptop, remove the battery, wait some seconds and try again.
     
  4. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    The only reason I hit escape is because when it is booting it says "hit the escape key" something. Plus, I followed these instructions below that I found on the hp website:

    " Opening the Computer Setup Utility
    To open the Computer Setup Utility, turn on the computer and immediately press the Escape key repeatedly, about once every second, until the Startup menu opens. Then press F10 .
    To navigate the menus, choose menu screens by pressing the left or right arrow keys. Use the up or down arrow keys to move through the list of items on the menu screen. Press the Enter key to select an item and open a submenu. Then use the left and right arrow keys to modify the settings. Press the F10 key to save the changes and exit from a submenu, or press the Esc key to exit from a submenu without saving the changes."

    I just rebooted and instead of hitting the escape key, I hit F10 and it brings up the HP setup utility mentioned above which is what I was using and haven't gotten it to work.
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Change it in the BIOS. :D
     
  6. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,272
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    That's how it is supposed to work.

    It is a security risk to have it automatically boot to a bootable CD/DVD without user intervention.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,650
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Cathy,

    Is it working? In the BIOS Boot Menu do you have CD first, HD second?
     
  8. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    No, it's still not working unless I make it. This is the default settings:

    UEFI boot sequence is listed in this order:
    Windows Boot Managaer
    USB Floppy/cd
    USB hard drive
    ATAPI cd/dvd drive

    Legacy boot sequence:
    ATAPI cd/dvd drive
    USB floppy/cd
    Hard drive
    I have moved the ATAPI cd/dvd drive in the UEFI boot sequence to be first in order before Windows boot manager but it didn't help
    I have moved anything that had to do with a cd drive to be first in order but it has made no difference. I have rearranged boot order in computer's bios for years but have never had trouble before. It doesn't make sense to me. Thanks everyone for your time.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,650
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    What happens if you try to boot a UEFI disk such as Win7 or Win8?
     
  10. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,103
    From what you say, the UEFI Secure Boot sequence seems that it may be the source of your problem, and you may have to disable it before you can have a chance of getting your desired boot sequence changes to do what you want.

    I am just giving a SWAG, but that is what I would try with the network disabled on bootup
    (e.g. to disable my network, I simply turn my router off).

    -- Tom
     
  11. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,285
    Secure Boot on Windows 7?
     
  12. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    I'm not using a router so is there another way to disable this?
     
  13. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Is there some way to disable this and if so, how?
     
  14. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,285
    Sorry, my post wasn´t clear. What I mean is that Secure Boot only works in Windows 8 (AFAIK). So, If you use Windows 7, this can´t be the problem.
     
  15. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,103
    I did not say that Win 7 was a problem, but the very fact that in post #8 it was mentioned that there was a UEFI boot sequence prior to a legacy boot sequence and that may indicate that the new HP hardware is probably compatible with Win 8 UEFI requirements.

    From my perspective, I am only positing that the UEFI firmware may be the source of the problem, but I am not certain that is so.

    The only way to disable UEFI is in the BIOS as I understand it, and a Computer Setup Utility afaik is not the BIOS (unless that is what HP calls it).

    Perhaps it is time for a call to HP Support for assistance?

    -- Tom
     
  16. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,272
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    It does not only work in W8 but Microsoft requires it when Windows 8 is factory pre-installed on new computers with UEFI-based motherboard as a security measure to prevent a badguy from inserting a CD or DVD and taking over the computer.

    So again, this behavior is correct, secure, and best left alone!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.