change avast to nod32

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mantra, Mar 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,141
    Hi
    i use windows xp sp2 , i use avast ,but i noticed that avast scans a lot of files, for example when i click on a directory avast scans every files inside the directory!

    i would like to know if nod32 does the same...
    does nod32 check every files if click(open ) a directory?
     
  2. swoop

    swoop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I just checked it. It does. It does it VERY fast. And in case of infiltration you'll get the red warning window or wouldn't be able to acces the file (in the case of Prohibit access / Clean automatically mode).

    Cheers.
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi mantra,

    avast! will scan all the files inside the directory if you have set him to do that.
    You can define it on the settings of the provider...

    For me, NOD32 is more fast on scanning files than avast!.

    Regards
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    if it didn't scan those files, you are at risk...
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,141
    i think there is not setting to let avast runs only open files... i think

    how can i let avast scan only opened files?
     
  6. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,141
    @VaMPiRiC_CRoW
    thanks!
    do u use avast?
    i use windows xp service pack 2
    i disable these option don't avoid the problem

    ps.
    i see the screenshot, but what kind of os do u use?
    is not a microsoft system , i see some differents in the schell
     
  8. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Sometimes I use it.
    I also use Windows XP SP2 Pro with the ClassicX theme...

    Disable that option didn't resolve your problem?

    Strange...
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    As you are talking about Avast, and this is the Nod32 Support Forum I have moved your thread here.

    Cheers

    Blackspear.
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,141
    @Blackspear
    i started a nod32 post because i want to change avast to nod32
    i use avast and so i tried to copare to avast



    @VaMPiRiC_CRoW
    thanks by the way , it doen't resolve the problem
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.