CentOS 7 - The perfect desktop guide

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Mrkvonic, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Ladies and gentlemen, it's here. The guide that will make CentOS 7 into finest distribution ever for home use. And so it happens this be the best article and news item of the year, the decade, the century, and all of eternity. In this ultra-extra extremely enthusiastic guide and amazing screenshot gallery, you will learn and see how to transform CentOS 7 into a perfect desktop, with the enablement of additional third-party software repositories and installation of popular applications like Skype, Steam, Flash, Java, MP3 codecs, VLC, LibreOffice, Lyx, Google Chrome, GIMP, Transmission, and more. Modern, stable, fast. There's no better than this. Enjoy.

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/centos-7-perfect-desktop.html


    Cheers,
    Mrk
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Does this have LTS? Or is an uninstall required every 6-12 months.
     
  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    In-distro upgrades till 2024.
    Mrk
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Awesome LTS support.
     
  5. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    I was never a fan of KDE. (nor Gnome 3 FWIW)
    Maybe I should install it anyway.
     
  6. accessgranted

    accessgranted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    They share so many things... In a nutshell, in what ways does CentOS differ from Fedora!? LTS?
     
  7. accessgranted

    accessgranted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Neither was I, until I tried KDE on openSUSE and Gnome on Fedora :) Old distros can be revived by new desktops [Cinnamon for example], but new and good versions of old distros can do the same for old desktops.
     
  8. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I have installed Centos 7 KDE on my non UEFI desktop in triple boot setup.
    Was surprised to discover that anaconda is not multi-boot friendly. You can either
    install the bootloader to mbr, or not at all. A punishable offence ? :)
    Anyway here is what I did ..
    (I wanted the bootloader to be installed in sdb5).
    Upon completion of the installation, quit the installer by Ctrl+Alt+F2.
    Login as liveuser.
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    Then force install grub2..
    grub2-install --force /dev/sdb5 (sdxx---choose your partition to install bootloader)
    grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
    exit (to quit chroot)
    reboot

    That's all.
     
  9. taytong888

    taytong888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    138
    Actually:

    1. GRUB2 always defaulted to being installed in MBR.
    2. More detailed procedure can be found in Terabytes Unlimited's documentation for installing Fedora.
     
  10. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I wouldn't know about that as I have never run Fedora. I replaced Centos 6.5 with Centos 7. Centos 6x uses legacy grub and one is able to choose bootloader installation partition. So my post was intended to assist others that multi-boot under similar circumstances. They should just remember to opt for not installing a bootloader in anaconda and follow the procedure in my previous post. In the 'Buntu' based distros, sure grub2 always defaults to being installed in the mbr, but at least one can change that in the installers.
     
  11. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Yup. Same here. I love XFCE for its simplicity and ease of customization.
     
  12. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Mrk,
    I have two questions.
    One, I tried CentOS 7 from the minimal install disc on my HP laptop with a Geforce 9300 video card (epel repos enabled...installed Cinnamon 2.0.14 DE) but the nouveau video driver is giving me problems. Cinnamon is running without video acceleration so everything looks crappy. Why is the nouveau driver in CentOS 7 so poor in comparison to the Ubuntu nouveau driver? Under Ubuntu Cinnamon 2.0.14 runs fine on the same laptop.

    Two, I have a few bash scripts (wallpaper changer...my own DVD/CD burner...offlineimap...bleachbit home folder cleanup...etc.) that run from the home folder but cronie is not running them at the specified time interval. I used crontab -e to set them up as user (nano set as the default editor in .bashrc file). Any special procedure to get cronie to execute those scripts as user in CentOS 7?

    Hope I explained my two questions well.

    Thanks. :).

    Later...
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    For the first, disable it. Go for the nvidia driver.
    For the second, are they not running at specified intervals or at all?
    Is it as trivial as the x bit or ownership?
    Mrk
     
  14. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    The scripts will run (they are executable) if I click on them in the home scripts folder. Ownership is listed as me in properties.

    Thanks for the reply.

    Later...

    Bob
     
  15. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Are you sure the crons are not running - or running and not doing anything?
    Mrk
     
  16. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    That is a possibility. I did have a similar problem in Ubuntu on one particular script (the same and only one I've tried in CentOS 7 thus far) a long time ago. Turned out to be a variable was needed in the cronjob. I'll check it out. Funny, the same cronjob ran fine in CentOS 6.

    Thanks, Mrk.

    Later...

    Bob
     
  17. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Found the problem why my script was not running in the cronjob. It seems my script needed a snippet of code added for DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS before cronie would change the wallpaper.

    It's working now.

    Thanks, Mrk.

    Later...

    Bob
     
Loading...