CD Writing error, process guard responsible?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by timnicebutdim, Mar 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. timnicebutdim

    timnicebutdim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    66
    Since installing process guard i can't copy files onto CD anymore from either of my cdrom drives. Strange that the properties of the CDRom drives keep turning off writing abilities and when i enable them, i can't copy files over to the drive to be able to write them.

    I get an error message saying that windows encounted a problem when trying to copy this files. Theres an option to try again but the error just repeats.

    I am sure its process guard which is stopping something that windows needs to use my cd drives. I have process guard in learning mode.

    I have tryed disabling protection and turning process guard off... but still the error exists.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    H timnicebutdim, Probably some sytem od CD writing software files that need to be on both the security and Protection list.
    Enable learning mode and retry your CD / DVD burning etc. You may have to reboot whilst still in learning mode if the software runs as a service.

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. Clowny

    Clowny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Posts:
    70
    Hi there. Have you tried to uninstall PG to see if the problem has gone away? Just a guess here, but have you installed ASPI drivers lately? I've had problems in the past from a bad install.

    Sorry I can't think of anything else. PG 2.x & 3.x has never given me problems with my cdrw.
     
  4. timnicebutdim

    timnicebutdim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    66
    Process guard is in learning mode, tryed rebooting, tryed disabling and rebooting, makes no difference. Have not tryed to uninstall process guard completely.

    This computer was recently formated and i was able to burn files perfectly before installing procecss guard.

    How would i uninstall process guard completely to see if this problem goes away?
     
  5. timnicebutdim

    timnicebutdim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    66
    I keep getting a rundill error.. could that be the cause?
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Yes, rundll is used by may programs so it should be on your lists, personally I only give it the "Allow once" flag as it could also be used by malware. I just have default settings for rundll on my machines. If you get fed up with all the security alerts you could "permit always" whilst doing a burning session and revert to allow once when finished :)

    Pilli
     
  7. timnicebutdim

    timnicebutdim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    66
    Its listed as permit always but makes no difference to my problem.
     
  8. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Have you tried disabling ProcessGuard and then burning?
     
  9. timnicebutdim

    timnicebutdim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Posts:
    66
    Yes i have tryed that.. made no difference.
     
  10. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Then I think you should be looking elswhere for a solution such as the one described by Clowny?
     
  11. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Whats the RUNDLL error ?
    Have you ticked "block new and changed" (its amazing how many people still do this, despite a huge warning NOT to, when you try)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.