CD slow - Vista fast?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mikex11, Jun 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    When performing an image backup to external USB drive from inside Vista, the process takes about 25 min. When I boot from the Recovery CD and do the same process, it takes 3 hours.

    Thoughts?


    I have version 10, b4942.
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Search the forum and you will find many similar posts. Its the Linux drivers used with the rescue CD. They do not work well with some hardware especially USB drives. Have a look at BartPE as an alternative Begginer's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD with one of Mustang's BartPE Plugins. BartPE is windows based and uses windows drivers. The performance improvement is significant.
     
  3. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Thanks for the quick reply, and I may look into that, however, can't I just expect the company that I gave my hard earned money to for this product to get me a solution? If what you say is the case then why doesn't Acronis use that solution for it's CD?
     
  4. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Another item I need to state is this slowness doing images from the rescue CD did not happen with Acronis 9.0, using the same computer system. Have the USB drivers been de-proved instead of improved?
     
  5. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Acronis provides a BartPE plugin. However, there windows licensing issues with the BartPE approach as well as licensing BartPE itself (free ware) for commercial use. There is a short discussion of this issue at https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1033547#post1033547 post #4 onwards.
     
  6. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    I have stayed with V9 so I can't comment on V10. Has your image size increased?
     
  7. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Oh I don't know, I didn't keep any 9.0 images to compare to.

    I'm still baffled with this slooooooow issue. We use Acronis at work (v10) and I use it from a CD to make images on different machines, and have never seen this slowness issue. Why should v10 act this way on this machine when v9 didn't? Something is amiss somewhere.
     
  8. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    I tried an external firewire drive and got about the same results - slooooooow. Very disappointing when running from the recovery CD.

    :thumbd:
     
  9. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Thats one of the reasons I use BartPE because it is significantly faster then the Linux based rescue CD. It does seem strange though that you would see such a dramatic difference between 9&10 on the same machine. The advantage of BartPE is that you can add drivers to the build which you can't do with the TI CD. You may want to raise a support issue and see what they suggest.
     
  10. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    I clammered through Bart PE just a little while ago, and it helped, well, it went from over 2 hours to over an hour to do an image from the CD. Something is not right here. Why is it so much faster in Vista than when using the CD? Anyone know? Acronis? I did raise a support issue today but no response yet.

    Note: I just started another image from within Vista and the estimated time to complete is 24 minutes! Beam me up Scotty.
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    What are your computer's specifications?
    Motherboard, chipset, brand, model, etc.

    If it's a fairly new computer (released since XP SP2), you'll probably need to add your board's drivers to your BartPE cd in order to gain the speed. If it's dropping back to a more "compatible" driver it will be slower. Even with BartPE on my ASUS P5B computer, it's still about twice as slow as doing it from Windows directly.
     
  12. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    It will never be as fast as within Windows where you are running from the hard drive. You are running from a CD and the plugin has to be loaded to a ramdisk. The BartPE environment is faster than the Linux based CD but will not be faster then windows.
     
  13. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21

    Thomas,

    Here's the thing. We have Acronis at work, and I use it from the CD all the time on several different platforms to make images to external USB drives. It isn't slow at all there. Why is it slow on my home PC when used from the CD -what's the difference?

    Here's what I have tried:

    A. I made a CD from the Acronis app from within Vista - Slow CD backups

    B. I made a CD from my laptop running XP, and tried that CD on my main PC - Slow CD backups

    C. I tried an external firewire drive - Slow CD backups

    D. I tried BartPE - Slow CD backups

    But from within Vista om my home PC - it backs up to the CD fast, just as fast as when I do a CD image at work with the Acronis CD we have there. I can't understand what the issue is with my home PC and running it from the CD, when at work, booting from the rescue CD I see no performance issues, and from within Vista I see no performance issues. What's the root explanation that ties all this together?

    o_O
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mikex11,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that as it was stated above Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue CD is Linux based and has it's own assortment of drivers for the wide variety of modern hardware. It does not depend on the hardware configuration of the system it was created on.

    I would recommend that you create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post on the computer in the question. In addition, provide the exact vendor and model of the hard drive controller and hard drives you use. Then send the collected information to Acronis Support Team, if you have not done that already.

    Should you not receive a reply from Acronis Customer Service Department within 48 hours, please send us a Private Message containing your Acronis request # (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter (or your e-mail address) and we will find out the reason for the delay.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.