CCleaner v5

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,449
    Location:
    Here
    Yes there was link to builds page on main download page but it seems that it's gone now. It looks like they are slowly removing those builds and at the end only full installer will be available.
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :thumbd:
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    21,040
    Yeah. They are preparing this step with removing the link to the builds-page (= new users of CCleaner are not aware of other builds) but the builds-page itself is still functional. But for how long ;)
    We'll see.
     
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,634
    Location:
    Mexico
    Then users have to be more proactive and look for workarounds such as getting another links or direct download links:
    Code:
    Builds: https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds
    Portable: https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/portable/downloadfile
    Slim: https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/slim/downloadfile
    Pro (change version in url): https://download.piriform.com/ccsetup538pro.exe
    Technician (change version in url): https://download.piriform.com/te/ccsetup538_te.exe
    Business (change version in url): https://download.piriform.com/be/ccsetup538_be.exe
    Business x64 MSI (change version in url): https://download.piriform.com/be/ccsetup538_x64_be.msi
    Business x86 MSI (change version in url): https://download.piriform.com/be/ccsetup538_x86_be.msi
    
    I know I know, those links could change or could be completely deprecated in the future.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2017
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,553
    I don't understand all those problems with getting the slim version (for example).
    Last week people somewhere else seemed to have also problems.
    I checked again, using IE11.
    https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds
    Go to Slim download there
    It gives you https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/slim
    Click "start the download"
    It gets me ccsetup538_slim.exe
    Checksums:
    MD5 - D66808D43EC486A190136BD19169F277
    SHA-160 - 38F9967C5A21F81990904141026709D508784864
    SHA-256 - A989B426CC2F60DB03826DE6CF5510862E39961967E52C7B6E0481C1C81D5EBA
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,449
    Location:
    Here
    If you know the link there is no problem (at the moment). But if you go to their page there is no more link to those pages. Usually there was a link to builds pages on their main download page ( https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download ) but it's gone now. It looks like they don't want people to find and use that page any more.
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,553
    Aha, OK then. I always go direct to the builds page (which is in my bookmarks). Thanks.
     
  8. oZone

    oZone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Earth
  9. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Interesting, thank you. :thumb:
     
  10. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Big up to PA :thumb:.

    Two programs I use often: first SUMo, now ccPortable (now to point CCEnhancer to the latter).

    Edit: Which directory should I add to CCEnhancer: C:\PortableApps.com\PortableApps\ccPortable\App\DefaultData?
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
  11. oZone

    oZone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Earth
    For now \ccPortable\App\CCleaner here
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,963
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download
     
  13. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Good to see Portable back again. :thumb:
     
  14. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    21,040
    For some users Avast was being installed without indication of the Avast installation (it happened with v5.38 and the latest v5.39):
     
  15. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,909
    Location:
    USA
    I got the Avast free pod with CCleaner v5.38, kept it for a couple of days. I deleted the Avast pod in the end.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  16. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    CCUpdate.exe starts immediately after setup, not sure, if it was doing it before this release. :doubt:
    CCleaner connects now, even when everything is unchecked (Inform about updates/View Release Notes).
    If a firewall is blocking outbound, ccsetup takes about 10-15 secs to start, otherwise it starts within a second.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,634
    Location:
    Mexico
    Better to use the portable one.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,189
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I had to opt out of installing Avast on a machine running Norton with this version.
     
  19. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    ... or PortableApps.com one ...
     
  20. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I have just found this interesting key, so much for speculations (some people suggesting, that the setup was tainted and not from Piriform).
    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Google\No Chrome Offer Until]
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,634
    Location:
    Mexico
    Which setup? v5.39?
     
  22. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    All since the offer is included. Many are saying, that Avast is not included by default and people should download a clean setup from Piriform. Considering the past, I can not blame them.
     
  23. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,303
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Not sure whether it's the new version of CCleaner, or the new Chrome beta, but Google Chrome is no longer showing up for me under CCleaner's 'Applications' menu. I've been using Chrome beta since the beginning at this is the first time I've experienced this. Anyone else?
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,691
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Been getting a download error on PA 5.39.6399 version for a couple of days now.

    Anyone else?
     
  25. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,761
    Location:
    UK
    If you are talking about Portable Apps (PA) that has nothing to do with Piriform (CCleaner)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.