CCleaner v4.18.4842

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by prius04, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    CCleaner v4.18.4842 - September 25, 2014

    - Added Active System Monitoring for Free users
    - Improved Firefox Saved Password cleaning.
    - Improved Opera History cleaning.
    - Improved 64-bit build architecture for Window 8 and 8.1.
    - Added Ashampoo Burning Studio 14, XnView and FastStone Capture cleaning.
    - Improved localization support.
    - Minor GUI Improvements.
    - Minor bug fixes.

    Download (for those not waiting on Slim): http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    http://www.piriform.com/blog/2014/9/25/ccleaner-v418
    ------------------------------
    http://www.neowin.net/news/ccleaner-4184842
     
  3. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Insert obligatory "waiting for slim build" comment.
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Yes but that belongs to someone else from LA BELLE PROVINCE.
     
  5. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    LOL. It's apparently a mantra that needs to be repeated. The more often you say it, the better. According to certain theories, CCleaner slim cleanses your soul and lets you stay slim at the same time.
     
  6. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    527
    It no longer seems to have Sandboxie in the list of programs that it cleans. :(
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Ivo, I just upgraded CCleaner in my W7 32 bits computer, the entry Cleaner>Applications>Sandboxie is still there.

    Check your Applications list a little closer, Sandboxie its probably still there.

    Bo
     
  8. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    483
    Location:
    Canada
    If slim cleanses the soul then I surely need it. :cool: Plus can lose that pot belly from drinking all those good Canuck lagers all these past years.:thumb:
     
  9. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Those that don't want "Added Active System Monitoring for Free users", note that it activates by default on install. Just go to Options/Monitoring and uncheck "Enable system monitoring". Then go Options/Advanced and also uncheck ANOTHER "Enable system monitoring".
     
  10. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Thanks for that :thumb:

    But why on two places :cautious:
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I think you only need the first one.
     
  12. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    527
    Nope, definately not there.
     
  13. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Right, well I haven't installed it yet :D, but do you mean that if you disable the first one the second will be disabled automatically?
     
  14. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    The only way it would stop for me was after I did the Options/Advanced one.
     
  15. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    Same here.
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi SweX, at first, immediately after upgrading, I unticked Options>Monitoring>Enable system monitoring. That did not automatically untick Options>Advanced>Enable active monitoring. So I unticked that option as well. But dont know if all thats really required to stop monitoring is to untick the first option.

    Bo
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Okay thanks, I will disable both to be sure as I don't want it running in the background all the time :)

    Edit: Cheers Bo ;)
     
  18. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I don't think you need to disable the second one but time will tell. I'm not arguing with anyone just to be clear.
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Then probably your new CCleaner installation is not detecting Sandboxie as being installed in your computer. I personally never use CCleaner to delete my sandboxes but I have it checked only to warm me in case I forget to delete contents in any sandbox.

    I don't like keeping contents around and since I temporarily test a lot of things in different sandboxes, the option in CCleaner is good for me. Because sometimes I forget to delete the sandbox when I m done testing. But if you don't do that or if you only use the DefaultBox, the option is really not that important. I wouldn't worry about it. The only thing that I can think of why CCleaner is not detecting Sandboxie in your PC is if you recently moved your SBIE installation from Program files. This is a guess. I ll upgrade CCleaner later in my XP to see if SBIE shows up in that one.

    Bo
     
  20. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hmmm I notice a difference in Bo's post...

    Enable system monitoring

    Enable active monitoring

    So what exactly is the difference between "system monitoring" and "active monitoring"

    I will disable both so it doesn't matter to me, but may matter to others, I mean if it is connected to the same function/feature why didn't they use the same name on both places. :confused:

    @The Hammer, No problem we all try to get our heads around this new feature that's all ;)
     
  21. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I wonder if they pulled the update. File name is 4.17 now on vendor site, and that is when using the internal updater as well.
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    A few seconds after upgrading CCleaner, I saw a real time monitoring pop up from CCleaner. After closing CCleaner I quickly found Options>Monitoring>Enable system monitoring and unticked it. After reading Veeshush:cool: post about the second option, to make sure nothing real time is going on, I unchecked that too.

    Bo
     
  23. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    FWIW, There is some talk here about the monitoring stuff: http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showtopic=41843

    Yeah I think that was a good decision :D
     
  24. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Yeah, I don't get the difference between the two options, but all I know is I don't want either 'em enabled.
     
  25. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
Loading...