CCleaner v4.11 Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by prius04, Feb 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    CCleaner v4.11 - Released February 25, 2013

    - Added Opera 15 and newer Startup item management
    - Added File content duplicate detection to File Finder
    - Improved Drive Wiper SSD detection
    - Added Torch Browser support
    - Added File Finder upper file size threshold
    - Optimized Firefox Profile Startup items detection
    - Improved Scheduler language support (Professional only)
    - Improved Google Earth, Winamp, MusicMatch Jukebox, Windows Live Messenger, Free Download Manager and Internet Download Accelerator cleaning
    - Minor GUI Improvements
    - Minor bug fixes



    Download: http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds

    Release notes: http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thanks. Updated and working smoothly.:thumb:
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the tip. :)
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    For those waiting on the slim build this is why is it released later.
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    The link just says that it is not why.
     
  6. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    Don't forget CCenhancer. Makes CCleaner far far more useful, and indepth. CCleaner is actually a decent privacy tool when used with Enhancer. I usually find an addition 1-5GIGS of logs when I enhance CCleaner on a machine..

    http://singularlabs.com/software/ccenhancer/
     
  7. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    The only downside to CCEnhancer is that you cannot uninstall its components without removing CCleaner as well, unless you are an expert user who knows how to tinker with the Initialization file. Moreover, it is not possible to select which modules to install. Nevertheless, CCEnhancer certainly pleases all users who want to enhance the functionality of Ccleaner, thanks to its overall simplicity and rich database.
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    thanks a lot
    but do they add wipe free space drivers with zero method?
     
  9. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    You can also enhance CCleaner cleaning ability by adding winapp2.ini

    One quick question:

    Why is CCleaner requesting Internet access by way of UDP port 53?
     
  10. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    700
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Probably checking your CCleaner version against the latest release so as to notify you of an update?

    Although I only quickly checked, my CCleaner didn't phone outwards during launch nor a scan.

    Try sniffing and see what's revealed. TCP/IP address? URL?

    Please let us know as this is interesting.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  11. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974

    In CCleaner settings I have (Automatically check for updates to CCleaner) unchecked.
    CCleaner isn't checking for new updates.

    When I click on Run Cleaner button CCleaner.exe wants Internet access outbound to UDP remote
    port 53. Local Port is 65535.

    I have firewall set to block port 53 and CCleaner finishes cleaning it's task I've set it
    to do. PID is 456
     
  12. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    700
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    I've used 3 different sniffers (mainly Wireshark) & Process Explorer and I've failed to see what you've related and I've unticked "Automatically check for updates to CCleaner" in CCleaner Settings. Of course our PIDs are unlikely to be the same for my 64-bit CCleaner v4.11.4619. Left-clicking "Run Cleaner" doesn't arouse any network activities on my Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 OEM system.

    I have absolutely no reason to disbelieve what you observe, but for now I need to do more homework. I'll certainly follow-up here if I learn more. :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  13. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Forgive me for jumping in with an idea here, as I'm no expert, but got interested reading this, as I have CCleaner set similarly.
    I was wondering if it could be possible that CCleaner is attempting to relay the details of what it's about to delete, unless prevented?
    Sully says:
    here

    Just a thought.
     
  14. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    700
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello Dermot7:

    Although @KeyPer4Life appears to have caught CCleaner phoning home, I had my Wireshark continually looking at my Internet traffic while I started a CCleaner "Run Cleaner".

    I had Wireshark 1.10.5 running default and without filters while only 'looking' at my system's Ethernet adapter. It only took a few tries to catch my system perfectly idle with regards to Internet traffic while I started the CCleaner scan.

    Wireshark simply had absolutely zero packet captures in those brief periods.

    I would certainly welcome a similar test from someone else. o_O
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2014
  15. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thanks very much 1PW, for the easy-to-understand explanation:thumb:
    Best not to speculate etc. and see if anyone can confirm or even elaborate on any of this.
    Thanks :)
     
  16. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    Have CCleaner v407.4369 installed (not latest version)
    Checked CCleaner forum but couldn't find anything.
    Have UDP port 53 connecting to my 2 DNS Servers.
    PID number changes according to task manager so can't use 456.
    No other app that I'm aware of is requesting UDP port 53 outbound internet connection
    except CCleaner.exe.

    If CCleaner is phoning home why on UDP Port 53 and not a TCP port? Is it phoning home?
    DNS servers run on UDP port 53.(default)
    Port 53 has TCP/UDP protocols if I'm correct.

    Don't know about apps that have a DNS address coded in them and haven't tried Wireshark.
    This is very puzzling.
     
  17. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    700
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello KeyPer4Life:

    I'm sure you may have good reason for not updating to CCleaner 4.11.4619, however would you consider updating in this case so as to rule out undiscovered issues?

    If you do, but later you must return to v4.07.4369, FileHippo amongst others are reputable repositories for fallback.

    HTH :)
     
  18. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    Hi 1PW:

    When I do update CCleaner I update to the slim version which comes out later than the
    standard version.
    I however did install CCleaner v.4.10.4570 (newer version than what I had)
    Same results as before (UDP port 53 wants internet access out)

    I dug deeper and looked at CCleaner screen as it was cleaning and noticed System DNS cache
    on screen. Then thought of looking into CCleaner settings and there was the answer.
    I had under Windows > System > DNS Cache CHECKED. This is causing my firewall to popup the
    UDP port 53 access message. If I uncheck DNS Cache in CCleaner settings no popup message.

    Thanks to all who responded.
     
  19. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    700
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Good find! Congratulations! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    thanks for the information
     
  21. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    853
    I dislike cleaner now because I got thrown off the forum by an idiot moderator and the fact that ccleaner wipe free space leaves filetips in the $MFT
     
  22. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Do not even mention it please, I had to reinstall Windows in order to fix, what CCEnhancer did. The same happened about a year ago and I did not learn the lesson. :rolleyes:
     
  23. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Slim's up! :D
     
  24. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks for posting this - makes some of us check more closely into some ot these apps before installing them. Many problems are self-inflicted. :ouch:
     
  25. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    hi
    may i know what are filetips?

    i'm interested , does ccleaner wipe free space 00 zero wipe?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.