CCleaner v4.05.4250

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by prius04, Aug 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    CCleaner v4.05.4250 - Released August 26, 2013

    - Added Windows Server 2012 R2 Preview support.
    - Added Windows Event Log cleaning.
    - Updated Intelligent Cookie Scanning.
    - Improved behavior when removing System Restore points.
    - Improved Windows XP last download location cleaning.
    - Enhanced the File Finder function keyboard navigation.
    - Improved privacy data cleaning for multiple users in Internet Explorer 11 (CCleaner Professional).
    - Improved the time interval options for system monitoring (CCleaner Professional).
    - Updated exception handling and reporting architecture.
    - Added Adobe Premier Pro CC, OpenOffice 4, CuteFTP 9, and Directory Opus 10 cleaning.
    - Improved Foxit Phantom PDF and QuickTime cleaning.
    - Minor GUI improvements and bug fixes.


    Download: http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds

    Release notes: http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download
     
  2. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    What attribute do you enable to clean System Restores? Thank you!
     
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  4. TheCatMan

    TheCatMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Posts:
    327
    Location:
    sweden
    thanks I still love ccleaner, it does the job well.

    I am however also using Kcleaner since it auto cleans the pc every hour ;)

    I wish ccleaner had such a feature...
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi ratchet,

    (in CCleaner version 4.04.4197; I haven't yet upgraded to v4.05.4250)
    In CCleaner go to the tab Tools.
    Then go to the tab System Restore.
    There you can select the System Restore Points you want to remove.
    Then click on the Remove button.

    I hope this answers your question.
     
  6. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I most certainly would not allow any cleaner to clean automatically.I want to be in control of what the cleaner actually cleans.

    Still ccleaner is still the top cleaner for me.:)
     
  7. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Is the CCleaner Professional an Ad-supported software?

    Thanks
    Camelia
     
  8. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    I have absolutely no idea why that would be the case since even the free version is not.

    See http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/features
     
  9. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    right on and thanks for updating us!!
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Just picked it up.
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks!
    It's separate from the normal cleaning scan. Go to -Tools -> System Restore ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    This is a convenient feature that I wasn't aware of. It's a lot easier to view and manage restore points here Vs the OS interface. By the way, the most recent restore point cannot be deleted, which I believe is a policy imposed by Windows.
     
  13. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    It's indeed easier to manage through Ccleaner, though if you want to change maximum disk space usage for restore points, you have to do it through the OS interface.
    If you go to System Properties -> System Protection -> Configure, there is a Delete button that deletes all restore points, I think the most recent one as well.
     
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    You made me curious :) so I tested and indeed it does delete all restore points including the most recent one.

    By the way, on the System Protection properties sheet (in the protection settings window under available drives) I have two entries for C: - one is labeled "System" and the other "Missing". The missing C: is apparently a ghost. I wonder what caused it and also if there's a way to remove it?

    Edit:

    Answered here...

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=329714

    Basically toggling System Protection Off/On clears the redundant entry.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
  15. Snoop3

    Snoop3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    just write a tiny batch file. mine just has 2 lines:

    ECHO OFF (idk what this does)
    "path location of CCleaner on your computer"/AUTO

    (and that runs CCleaner with your GUI settings)

    then create a shortcut to it on your desktop or just use a small freeware app like Shutter to run the batch file every so often or whenever your CPU drops below a certain %, or no network activity, or user inactivity, etc etc.

    there is a page at Piriform with list of parameters

    what i use mostly is 2 batch files that run both CC and Bleachbit, one version of the batch file just runs both programs consecutively and the other does that and then shuts down the computer.

    (i dont know any programming at all but this stuff is easy to do)
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    It stops the commands executed in the batch file from being shown.

    "ECHO OFF" will be displayed in the command (DOS) Window, but none of the other lines will be shown. If you want, you prefix "echo off" with an "@" i.e. "@echo off" and then not even the "echo off" will be displayed.
     
  17. Snoop3

    Snoop3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    aha, good to know. thanks :)
     
  18. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    ...and Fanj, thanks for this! I'd posted the question on their forum too and forgot I posted it here. I've used it for years and years and never noticed that. I always end up running Windows cleanup as administrator to remove them prior to imaging but after CCleaner. Now I will only have to use CC!
     
  19. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Windows event logs.........Sweet! :thumb:
     
  20. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  21. TheCatMan

    TheCatMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Posts:
    327
    Location:
    sweden
    thanks will look into that batch files for running ccleaner automated and more:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.