CCleaner no longer cleans Flash ?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by Fly, Jun 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    It seems that CCleaner no longer cleans flash, at least not with the same inclusions and exclusions I've used for quite some time.

    Inclusions:
    c:\documents and settings\username\application data\macromedia\flash player\#sharedobjects
    c:\documents and settings\username\application data\macromedia\flash player\macromedia.com\support\flashplayer\sys

    Exclusion:c:\documents and settings\username\application data\macromedia\flashplayer\macromedia.com\support\flashplayer\sys\settings

    Flash version: 10.1.53.64
    OS: Windows XP Home Edition SP2 IE 7

    This is a recent change.
    Does it have anything to do with the newer Flash version or something else ?

    A few moments ago I ran CCleaner. After checking the 'flash security settings' some Flash stuff was still there ! So I had to remove it by means of the web interface.

    Does anyone have a solution ? Do I need to make different inclusions or exclusions ? I just checked the folders and files, and it seems they have not changed. But then, why do I need to run the web interface to remove the Flash stuff ?

    Perhaps ... it is also stored online ?

    I always try to configure the security settings as tight as possible but some stuff always gets through.
    Not long ago the web interface changed, I don't know if that has anything to do with it.

    Suggestions, comments, answers ?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
  5. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    The thread is about Firefox.

    I use IE 7.

    My inclusions and exclusion always worked. I'm not using any particular anti-Flash functionality that the latest version of CCleaner may have, just the inclusions and the exclusion for the settings file.

    Considering that the folders still exist ...

    Are my Flash data stored on the internet ??
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
  6. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    try flash cookie cleaner
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  8. Pleonasm

    Pleonasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,201
    FYI -- I use R-Wipe&Clean 9.0 to erase the contents of the following folders (on Windows Vista Business), and it works properly with Adobe Flash 10.1:

    C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Flash Player\AssetCache
    C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects
    C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\macromedia.com\support\flashplayer\sys
     
  9. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Thanks, but I prefer not to install any unknown or additional software to deal with Flash.

    A matter of security and simplicity.
     
  10. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I wonder if the 'AssetCache' is somehow responsible for my problem ?
    I'll try to include that the next I run CCleaner.

    What about the settings.sol file ? Any particular reason why you don't exclude it ?

    Btw, I've tried to make the folder in which settings.sol is located read-only, but every time I do that something gets written in that folder.
    (Windows XP Home Editon SP2)

    Thanks. :thumb:
     
  11. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I'm not sure what you're trying to say.
    Aside from other third-party utilities I didn't get any meaningful results.
     
  12. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @Fly

    See if this helps ;)

    flfl.gif

    fcr.gif

    That's because it gets deleted !

    bpo.gif

    lso.gif

    I don't have any problems with the above setup :thumb: No Adobe settings/data etc are stored on my comp :D
     
  13. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    It was a joke, I'm sorry if you took it out of context - meaning if you refer to something, please post a Wilders Security Forums, type link to the information :thumb:


     
  14. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Support for removing flash cookies was added in version 2.19.901 (7 May 2009) - and it is still there. This is a non-issue.
     
  15. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I'm not sure. I have the slim build.

    ccsetup226_slim. With right-click it says version 2.0.0.0 ! Downloaded in Dec last year.

    The way I did this: two inclusions and an exclusion for the settings file. This has worked for a long time. Till recently.

    Note: I just tried an inclusion for the AssetCache, but it didn't work.

    Why doesn't it work anymore ?
    I think this issue started when Adobe created their new settings manager.

    Btw, I use a HOSTS file. Any chance that that has something to do with this issue ?
     
  16. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Well it works and so does r-wipe. http://www.flashcookiecleaner.com/

    R-wipe also gets rid index dat files that Ccleaner leaves behind.
     
  17. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    I've been reading this thread for a while, trying to make sense of it and I think your problem may be that you have a very old version of CCleaner. I presently have the current(Slim) version 23.1184 and I don't seem to have a problem deleting my flash cookies. Also, your old version 2.0 seems to go all the way back to 2007:

    http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showtopic=11185&st=0

    And even though the piriform.com forum screen shot of CCleaner v2.0 didn't display the Applications tab, Pinga already said that support for removing flash cookies was added in version 2.19.901 (7 May 2009).

    Try keeping up to date with your software.

    P.S. Also, if you still have questions about this, you should go to the source and post a thread at the piriform.com CCleaner forum.
     
  18. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi Fly,

    I hope that I can explain that for you.
    That version number 2.0.0.0 is the version number of the installer of CCleaner.

    See screenshot (sorry, it is in Dutch, but I hope that you see what I mean).

    CCleaner_W_2010_07_05_03.gif



    It is not the actual version number of CCleaner itself !!!
    That version number 2.0.0.0 of the installer itself has not been changed for a long time.

    I can understand your confusion.
    Piriform might have made it easier. But that's how things are.
    So we don't have to confuse the version number of the installer with the actual version number of CCleaner itself.

    If you want to know the version number of CCleaner that is installed on your system, start it and look at the top (see screenshot).

    CCleaner_W_2010_07_05_02.gif


    If your version number is older than 2.33.1184, then download the latest one and install it.

    I too use the slim version.
    Are you familiar with checking the MD5 checksum of a file?
    If you are familiar with that, compare the MD5 checksum of the install-file with mine:
    The file ccsetup233_slim.exe has the following Checksum(s)
    MD5 - C39E5EED6A7261AB72DDE6F4E970D340
     
  19. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    Thanks for catching that, FanJ.
     
  20. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks RCGuy for your kind words !

    First thing now is that Fly installs the latest version of CCleaner.
    From there we can go further.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  21. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    I don't think CCleaner has *ever* cleaned flash for me, even with the latest version. :(
     
  22. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    i thought it always had?
     

    Attached Files:

  23. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @stratoc

    I think funkydude means it's supposed to, but in his experience it doesn't.

    Very worrying if this is a serious fault with CCleaner :(
     
  24. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    i thought mine worked because sites i use with flash, 3dguru etc load slightly slower after i run ccleaner sites without flash seem to load the same i always assumed this was because the cookies were reloading. perhaps im mistaken.
     
  25. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    All I have under multimedia is Windows Media Player. Maybe it's possible it just doesn't detect it properly on x64?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.