CCleaner 2.36 and MBAM

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by FanJ, Sep 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi,

    You may have noticed that CCleaner was updated to version 2.36.1233 on 27 Sept 2010.
    See posting by ourstanley:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=283047

    I quote a part of that update notice (emphasis by me):

    I was curious about what this CCleaner update was doing with MBAM.
    What I expected, it deletes the MBAM logs.
    Well, it does so only if you have put a checkmark in CCleaner - Applications - Utilities - Malwarebytes Anti Malware.

    BTW, on XP-home the logs are here:
    C:\Documents and Settings\(username)\Application Data\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\Logs\

    Of course it is completely up to you if you want those logs to be removed.
    But it might be another situation when someone is trying to help you with an infection on a dedicated help forum (where they do Hijackthis and/or OTL analysis and often ask for a MBAM log).
    So a word of caution might be in place here.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2010
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the tip Jan. :)
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    You're most welcome, Ron !

    PS: I have edited the post slightly to say:
    "where they do Hijackthis and/or OTL analysis and often ask for a MBAM log"
     
  4. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
  5. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Appreciate the heads up, Jan. :thumb:
    As you stated, MBAM was not checked by default,
    but avast! was.
    I unchecked it.
    :)
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    You're most welcome SIR****TMG and Page42 !

    Thanks for the additional info Page42 !

    PS: for your info:
    after I discovered it and posted it here, I had also informed nosirrah (Malwarebytes Lead Researcher) by PM here on the board. He is aware of it.
     
  7. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Me to.
     
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I cannot find it.
    Could someone give me some info on where it is?
    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,947
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    JerryM, look at the CCleaner section, choose the Applications tab, and it's under Utilities.
     
  10. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, JR. MBAM was not checked on mine. I did see Win Patrol, and don't know what happens with it.

    I appreciate the help.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  11. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi Jerry,

    That's right: MBAM is not checked by default.

    JR was already so kind to give you the info where to find it in CCleaner. :thumb:
    Let me also give a screenshot if I may:

    MBAM_2010_09_28_1.gif
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,947
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    JerryM, my MBAM was not checked also. I don't use WinPatrol, yet could be logs removal as well.

    You're welcome! Take care.
     
  13. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks Fan and JRV.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. FanJ
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    789
  2. NonGeek
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,675
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.