Casino Toolbar

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by poespas, Feb 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poespas

    poespas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi There,

    I have installed Spywareguard and Spywareblaster. Both are up-to-date.
    I just submitted Webroot Spyware blaster and for the second time within a week if found the Casino Toolbar in my Registry :doubt:

    I was wondering if it will be possible to include a protection against this toolbar in both programs?

    Thanks in advance!

    Ellen
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. poespas

    poespas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks Gerard!

    Webroot SpySweeper already removed it for me and it only showed an entry for the registry, so I believe not a complete install was performed.

    With installing SpywareGuard, Blaster and Microsoft AntiSpyware, I had hoped to be protected and that known stuff would not be installed, like this toolbar, not even in the registry..

    So my question was more if SpywareGuard and Blaster can include this toolbar so we will be protected against it? Would appreciate it!!

    :)

    Thanks,
    Ellen
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Ellen,

    Would you mind sharing with us Please the entry it was showing either via a screen shot or text of the registry location....including the URL address.
     
  5. poespas

    poespas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Bubba,

    no I don't mind. I am using a program named Hitmanpro, which submits a number of programs (like Ad-Aware, Sypybot, SpySweeper and Spywareblaster) automatically for you. Currently this program is only in Dutch but the programmers are working on a version in English, German and French if I am correct.

    This program produces a log which told me following info:

    Also if I go to SpySweeper folder with Windows Explorer, it shows me a x-number of R_CasinoToolbar[Sequential number].DAT records in the Quarantine folder.

    I hope this helps?

    Regard,
    Ellen
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I was hoping the Spysweeper would provide info such as the clsid # or the actual registry location. Unfortunatley that's fairly Generic info :(
     
  7. poespas

    poespas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry Bubba.

    Since I suspected this error was coming from the version installed by HitmanPro, I uninstalled SpySweeper, then downloaded a new trial version and had it run.

    All was clean, however my system slowed down in performance dramatically... now this might be a coincident or I just have too much protection on my system which is creating a monster :doubt:

    So I decided to uninstall that trial version and do without it. I have Microsoft antiSpyware, Spywareguard and blaster, further I have Ad-Aware, Norton Internet Security, Stinger and Spybot... So.... *puppy*

    How come by the way, that there have been no updates for a very long period in time now for SpywareGuard??

    Thanks,
    Ellen
     
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Please visit the below thread link.

    This link---> SpywareGuard Updates
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.