Can't Update Virus Signature Database

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by fragerfox, Apr 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RaideR

    RaideR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    The same things with me. I tried to update from LAN mirror. It connects, then download bar comes to an end. And nothing hapens. The version of the base is the same.
    Where is the problem??
     
  2. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Cheers :)
     
  3. RaideR

    RaideR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    As I understood, I cannot update my virus definitions base from local mirror, made by NOD32. Am I right?
     
  4. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    615
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    yes. ESS use different update file from nod32
     
  5. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Beta 1a installed and updating correctly - whatever has changed to fix that I don't know :)

    (OK it's an old thread and I'm quoting myself but I'm glad it now updates)
    Cheers :)
     
  6. hotdogandchips

    hotdogandchips Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    I'm still having the issue; I've discussed it in relation to my Squid Proxy (as disabling it allows ESS to update correctly) here.

    It's bizaare because according to my squid logs it's hitting the correct places, however unless the proxy is disabled it just spits out the "download interrupted" error.

    Code:
    10:21:48 [my internal ip] http://89.202.157.135/eset_upd/update.ver 
    10:21:48 [my internal ip] http://89.202.157.135/download/engine3/em008_32_n1.nup 
    10:21:49 [my internal ip] http://89.202.157.135/download/engine3/em002_32_l1.nup 
    
     
  7. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    And a few more days have passed and no updates again :)

    Cheers :)
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Mine ESS beta1a updates fine
     
  9. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    My log is similar and I know my ISP included a transparent proxy late last year.

    Cheers :)
     
  10. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
  11. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes. This is the big reason I dumped this product. It tells you you are protected with signatures 2 months old. :mad:
     
  12. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    Hi,

    It's not the case for all of us, most users are able to update ESS correctly. Why not tyry to solve the problem instead of just de-installing. Are you behind a proxy (or a NAT or something that filters traffic), is the system date correct ? (obviously there's a problem with it, if the last update is from JULY 2007 !)
     
  13. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,634
    I had teh same problem and all I can suggest is that you just keep trying to update. After some tries mine did update.
     
  14. Najmi

    Najmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    ok guys there is a solution to all of these. u need to tell me which os you are using so that i can give you the steps.
     
  15. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Najmi,

    Would you mind just posting the proposed steps for each OS please?

    Cheers :)
     
  16. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    OK - I'm using XP home + SP2, Comodo Firewall., Comodo Boclean.
     
  17. nutsukae

    nutsukae Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    if i used ess b1 , i have to try to change it to ess b1a for correctly update right??
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    So Sjoeii, am I to take it you also use Nod, or are your comments,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
     
  19. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    and....how to update ESS?? may be we can ask ESET for http server with copy rights, or we can copy the updates directly from *.eset.com with site-copy-software and then try to do something with it?
     
  20. Ven

    Ven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    After I installed beta 1b I couldn't update the virus signature. Later I tried again and I was successful.

    So far so good.
     
  21. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    615
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    yes i can confirm it. i need to restart after installation in order to get update to work.
     
  22. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    just can't get through proxy...what the deal? UDP/TCP 8081 ports are open
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.