Can't Update Virus Signature Database

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by fragerfox, Apr 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fragerfox

    fragerfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    For some reason I'm not able to update the virus signature database. It either gets a Download Interrupted or File Not Found error. I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate.
     
  2. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Same here.

    Cheers :)
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    A user in the Bulgarian forum has the same problem with XP SP2 . I checked his settings are OK . Hope to hear ~a solution~ ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2007
  4. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    No problem here
     
  5. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    no problem here. update feel faster than 2.x
     
  6. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    it is indeed.
     
  7. fragerfox

    fragerfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I finally got it to successfully update by using dial-up internet. It seems my router is blocking the updates but why it does is still a mystery to me. My router is a Dynalink RTA1335.

    EDIT: I checked for updates while connected to the router and now it comes up with no errors. o_O But there wasn't any updates so I'll see if that's the same when there is an update available to download.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    @ fragerfox

    Next time , when you are with your router , use ping and tracetr command to check your connection with ESET servers
    ping u34.eset.com or tracert u34.eset.com (example)

    You'll see if you have connection to them and if not , where you loose it.
     
  9. fragerfox

    fragerfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Seems to choke at u34.eset.com, ping works fine though. I have attached the tracert results.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    automatic updates don't seem to work - funny enough:

    Settings - choose server automatically
    Server - list is empty??

    Ruben
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Unless you define your own servers there will only be the automatic server selection available.
     
  12. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    hmm - I imagined -cause pressing update now works. So how do I check if automatic works?

    Ruben
     
  13. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Great job ! (you know why) :thumb:
     
  14. fragerfox

    fragerfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I tried today to update but still no luck with the router. Any help?
     
  15. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Are we supposed to be able to get updates for ESS at the moment?
    I tried pointing it to my local mirror also but that didn't work either (not that I really expected it to)
    Screenshot - 8_04_2007 , 5_22_58 PM.png
    Cheers :)
     
  16. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Did you try automatic mode?
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    ESS does not currently have the mirror feature so you cannot update it from a mirror.
     
  18. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Hi Marcos

    Good to see you are here in the weekends as well.
    Support from Eset comes in the weekends as well I see
     
  19. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for confirming that Marcos - I thought that would be the case.

    I will un-install ESS Beta and continue with NOD32 v2.7 until ESS can be updated either from ESET directly or from my mirror, I'm sure somebody will post about it at that time, or reply to the request sent to betasupport on Sat 7/04/2007 13:19 GMT+11

    All the other parts seem to be working very well.

    Cheers :)
     
  20. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    ESS can be updated directly from ESET via internet . Just configure your update as to "Choose automatically" server and update
     
  21. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, that is how it should work. When it didn't then I also tried to update from my mirror.

    Cheers :)
     
  22. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Then going back to NOD32 would be the right choice ;)
     
  23. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    :thumb:

    Cheers :)
     
  24. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    is there any trouble with the update server ? my ESS cannot update now. last update is 2174 and it stuck in there :(
     
  25. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    No , because my NOD32 updates flawlessly . It is a bug in the Suit , which I experience sometimes , sometimes not.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.