Can't update--Downloaded file is damaged

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by bmac, Aug 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bmac

    bmac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    Just purchased version 2.50.25 for win xp but when I attempt to run the update, I keep getting "Downloaded file is damaged" when I get to the 77% downloaded point. Anyone seen and solved this one?

    Thanks for the help,
    Bill
     
  2. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    The update files you download go to the C:\Program Files\Eset\updfiles folder. Try emptying this folder and update again.

    (By the way, I have never run into this problem myself, so this is just a guess. You may try moving these files to a temporary location first, instead of deleting them.)
     
  3. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi bmac:

    Are you on dial-up, dsl or cable?

    Which AV was previously on the system?

     
  4. bmac

    bmac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    Alglove:
    Tried what you suggested. No luck. Rats!

    Rumpstah:
    I was using Norton Systemworks 2003 before NOD32. I did an uninstall using "Add/Remove Programs" and then followed the manual uninstall on the Symantec website (deleting files in folders as well as registry entries). So my system should be totally rid of Norton.

    I'm on a DSL connection.

    When NOD32 wouldn't update, I did an uninstall and reinstall of NOD32, but that didn't help. I also ran a scan of the virus defs that came with my downloaded NOD32, but again that didn't solve my problem.

    Any other help is appreciated.
    Bill
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi bmac, welcome to Wilders.

    Did you remove the Eset folder from C Drive> Program Files after you uninstalled?

    Do the following files exist?

    C Drive> Windows> Temp

    C Drive> Documents and Settings> (User Name) XXXXXX> Local Settings> Temp

    Cheers :D
     
  6. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi bmac:

    Try running the winsockfix.

    If the removal of Symantec was only that easy. ;)

     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Why not run the repair function of NOD?
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Doesn't work as well as this little tool.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I thought they did the same thing. I guess winsocfix does it better.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    In my experience it does. I have stopped using the "Repair" feature.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi Hammer:

    The tool from within IMON is geared toward the LSP layer and not all of winsock.

     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks Rumpstah, appreciated.

    Cheers :D
     
  13. bmac

    bmac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    Well, I tried everything.

    Uninstalled and reinstalled NOD32 (and before reinstalling, cleared out my temp folders and deleted the ESET folder in Program Files). Also ran winsockfix and the repair within IMON once installed. Nothing has seemed to help. I still get a "...damaged" message when the update download reaches about 77%. I also redownloaded the app, but no help.

    Thanks for all the input. You definitely learn more when things don't go right than when they do. Got any more suggestions?

    Bill
     
  14. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    what are you trying to download - trial or full?

    An alternate download location may help...
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Are you using a Download Manager?

    Cheers :D
     
  16. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi bmac:

    At this point it would appear more appropriate to ask if you have a proxy server or additional security software installed. ;)

     
  17. bmac

    bmac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    Again thanks for all the suggestions.

    In answer to some questions:

    -- I bought NOD32. It's not a trial version. I've downloaded it three times and installed each after uninstalling the previous. All behave the same.

    -- I'm not using a proxy server.

    -- I do use Zone Alarm. I tried shutting it down and attempting the update, but again, I get a failure at the 77% download point.

    -- I don't use any type of download manager.

    Bill
     
  18. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi bmac:

    Sent you a PM.

     
  19. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Maybe you or your ISP is using a Cisco router? If possible, try connecting via a different ISP.
     
  20. bmac

    bmac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    I have another computer connected to the same ISP, both computers going thru a Netgear router. My first computer had no problem with installing NOD32 and it gets updates with no problem. However, my second computer has the problem.

    Bill


     
  21. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    I use a cisco router on my dsl at home - no problem there. My ISP uses Cisco gear on my DSL connection too... what are the details of Cisco issues Marcos?
     
  22. vee

    vee Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Zagreb, HR
    @bmac

    I had the same issues while running NOD with nVIDIA firewall(on nforce4)... I would always get ""Downloaded file is damaged" when I get to the 77%"... so maybe nothing to do with your configuration, but... I will try ;): be sure not to use NV Firewall or NAM (Network Access Manager) from nvidia as they give a lot of headache...

    Regards,
    vee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.