can't split XP Pro partition and move My Documents

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by jcnlv, Feb 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jcnlv

    jcnlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I am trying to split the only partition on my C: drive - disk1. 500GB.
    System: Windows XP Pro 2.4Ghz, 4 GB ram,
    using Acronis Disk Director Suite® version 10.0 (build 2,160)

    I want one partition with my "OS and Programs" and another partition with "My Documents"

    I have imaged the drive, run chkdsk, and defragged, I reduced the size of "My Documents" to 186GB and I have 242 GB of free space in the partition.

    I have tried 3 times (at about 1 1/2 hour per attempt) and every time it does not take -- and I am getting very frustrated.o_O

    I select "Split" and select "My Documents" folder to be moved to the newly created partition... it goes through what seems like 30-45 minutes or so of analyzing, and then gives me a screen that allows me to "distribute free space". There I set it to allow about 60 GB for the OS and Programs... The graphical representation in ADD looks exactly as I want it, so I then "Commit" and "Proceed" which brings up a Reboot alert which I select.

    Upon reboot a Windows screen comes up where it "analyses" and "checks" the partitions, which again seems to take forever, and ends with a line on the screen saying it is "rebooting" again.

    Upon this second reboot again the Windows screen comes up where it again analyses and checks the partitions, and then boots to the Windows login prompt.

    Upon login I check the MyComputer>Manage>Manage Disks and there has been NO change.

    I check using ADD and it is back to looking as it did originally and there has been no Split---

    I get NO Errors... and I believe I have followed all the directions...:doubt:

    Can anyone tell me why this might be?
     
  2. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    If DD can't do it why not simply shrink the existing partition and create a new one in the unallocated space? You can then use Windows to move your files. Simple.
     
  3. jcnlv

    jcnlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Hi Earthling - thank you for your reply.

    I thought about doing that. I'm just not that accustomed to modifying partitions and have a fear of somehow making an error... I felt ADD would eliminate the need for fear and just do what I bought it to do -- as simply as possible.

    Even though I imaged the drive I did not test a restore on the image.
    My data is all backed up with Second Copy, but the thought of reinstalling XP and its 100 or so updates and service packs and all my programs is something that I just would not want to face.

    So is it correct then, that I should -- using ADD ,
    -- shrink the existing partition to hold what is on the drive now
    -- create a new partion to fill the unallocated space
    -- move My Documents to the new partition using Windows explorer
    -- shrink the partition with the OS and programs in it down to a minimal size
    -- increase the size of the new partition with the data to use all remaining unallocated space

    and nothing special I need to worry about?
     
  4. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    That is correct. I have done that with every comp I've had and it has always worked without problems. You would obviously be more relaxed about it though if you knew that a restore would work in the event of problems, but the only way you can actually prove that is by doing it to a spare drive.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I would strongly recommend that the Split procedure not be used.

    Doing the procedure manually (as Earthling suggests) using resizing and moving the files is a much safer approach (in my opinion).
     
  6. jcnlv

    jcnlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you both very much.
    I appreciate the advice... this is new territory for me.

    If I was to restore to a spare USB drive how would I check the bootability of that drive? How can I get the computer to boot off that drive rather than the C: drive?
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Windows won't boot and run off of a USB drive without being specially tweaked. The best you can do is to just look at the drive and see if everything looks like its there and okay.

    If the USB drive is a standard enclosure, I suppose you could remove the drive and install it inside the computer to try it. However, if the USB drive is a retail model, this may be difficult and it may void the warranty.

    The best restore test is to install a spare internal drive and restore to that (the original is kept safe -- disconnected, for example).
     
  8. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
  9. jcnlv

    jcnlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    OK... I see. Unfortunately it is almost 300 Gigs and I don't have that big of a spare SATA...:doubt: The main reason I am re-partitioning is so I can get the OS and Programs to image faster and take less drive space and make all my backups more manageable. I guess hindsight is better than no sight :)
    Live and learn.

    I just looked at the image and it is like 68 4,194,304 KB .tib files!o_O
    Is that normal or is it because the drive was formatted FAT32?
    Will it still restore to NTFS drive OK?

    Thank you again, very much.
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It's because the drive on which you saved the backup was formatted FAT32 (it has a 4GB filesize limit).

    Restoring to an NTFS formatted partition won't be a problem because of this.
     
  11. jcnlv

    jcnlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    All I can say is I hope the True Image is better that Acronis Disk Director...

    I cannot get this thing to make a partition! :mad:

    No matter how I try it nothing happens... no new partitions, no size changes nothing...

    I tried...

    -- "resize" (shrink)the existing partition to hold what is on the drive now
    -- create a new partion to fill the unallocated space

    Takes me all the way through -- looks good I commit, and windows analyzes, checks, even gives it a drive letter -- but when I finally am able to log back in -- nothing has changed!

    I tried using the "create partition" wizard... using the free space and same deal... it takes me all the way through, smae thing...it shows me pretty pictures of what the drive will look like and then when I finally am able to log back in -- nothing has changed!!!

    Nada, Zilch...

    I can't mess with this more for a couple of days now as I have to get some work done... this thing has cost me a full days worth of work already... with nothing to show for it...

    If anyone has any other ideas I would sure like to hear them...

    Thank you
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Starting the procedure in Windows requires a reboot and doesn't always work correctly.

    It's generally better to boot to the DD CD and do the procedures. This gets Windows out of the way. It also lets you have control over the procedures instead of them running on a script (which tells you nothing if the process fails).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.