Can't seem not to split media during Backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dkeene, Mar 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkeene

    dkeene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    In performing an entire computer backup, I find True Image makes multiple 4.7 or so GB files. I would like to make one large file. I don't seem to have this option even with ADVANCED options. Any thoughts?

    Doug
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    That's because the destination for the backup is formatted as Fat32. To get one file you need to transform it to NTFS.
     
  3. dkeene

    dkeene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks
    Does this mean that I have to reformat and lose all the data on the external drive? Ugh
     
  4. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    I know of only one way to make the change without losing the data and that's to use Partition Magic. But you can also move the backup temporarily to your C drive, reformat the destination drive then move the Backup Image back to it, or make a new one if you want just one file.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Ralphie's above suggestion is the best way. If you can't move the data then the conversion can be done with Partition Magic or BootIt NG. Avoid doing it from WinXP until you have run "Align for NTFS" as you will finish up with 512 byte clusters.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.