cant see lcd screen after recovery boot

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by allserene, Jul 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    If I use an old crt monitor i can see the recovery boot cd is working fine and goes right through to the operations screen. If I use my lcd screen (CTX 17inch) then after the full/safe/windows screen - it all goes blackish with dark creeping shadows... does the cd contain screen settings ? I have tried changing the resolution etc on my display card.. (agp eight times).... the screen works fine with all other programs so why is it that acronis boot disk is the only program that the screen will not display ?

    alan
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Is there a driver for your LCD screen on the Acronis Boot CD?
     
  3. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    the boot cd was created after i installed anew driver for the lcd screen...do i have to just copy the driver to the cd ? which folder ?

    alan
     
  4. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi allserene,

    Unfortunately it is not as simple as that. Remember the Acronis Boot CD operates under a specially configured Linux shell. In this instance the only person who I would trust to give the correct advice would be an Acronis developer.

    Suggest that you raise a support call with Acronis. It is almost a 100% certainty that the absense of the driver (or the wrong version) is creating the problem.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    At first I thought your video card was not supported by the Linux operating system of the Recovery CD, but fortunately you proved that it is when you connected the CRT monitor.

    Most LCD panels have an AUTO configure button on the front. Try pressing that when the screen goes black.
     
  6. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Hum tried resetting my lcd screen - no effect... I ran a clone from acronis inside windows and it rebooted (without the cd) and the black screen happened again --- so now i dont know if it is software or graphics card or lcd.... windows works perfectly with acrt or the lcd so that would suggest the graphics card and lcd are ok unless acronis outputs video differently to windows and the frequency or whatever on the card/screen is damaged ?

    thrashing about now...

    thje clone worked perfectly with the screen blank all the time - good job it didnt need input when it rebooted automatically !

    what can i try next ? acronis works fine inside windows until it has to reboot itself and then i get a black screen

    alan
     
  7. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    ps my lcd screen is ctx and works fine without special drivers using standard xp vga driver-- i have tried it with the vga driver and the special ctx driver downloaded 2 days ago - neither work under acronis boot up but either works
    with the crt screen...the ctx lcd screen is perfect in windows... i have tried different resolutions - nothing - still ablack screen under acronis boot from cd or from within windows when cloning

    alan
     
  8. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Alan,

    It is not surprising that it worked OK from within Windows. Windows is delivered out the box with thousands of drivers for every conceivable product.

    When you exit Windows you enter a bespoke Acronis version of the core elements of the Linux OS. If Acronis haven't included a Linux driver for your graphics card and your LCD screen then your MOBO does not know how to communicate them - hence the black screen.

    Linux and Windows drivers are not the same thing.

    If you email Acronis Support with the exact make, model and version numbers of your graphics card and LCD screen they will be able to tell you immeditately whether they have a Linux driver for your products. If they haven't they will often get the drivers and sort you out within a few days.
     
  9. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    many thanks for that - i contacted ctx and they say my lcd is a simple screen which just works or doesnt...it hasnt got modes for different kinds of output other than freq etc - yes i reckon you are right about the linux driver... although i am sure i booted this cd some months ago with the crt and it was ok ... i wonder if something on the motherboard might have popped - is there an onboard chip for vga etc that might be the problem ?

    in the meantime i will ask acronis support to keep thinking... thanks alan
     
  10. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    finally - it works ! ok here is what you do

    youn plug an old crt screen in and boot up on the cd

    then you hit f11 and issue a linux command > vesa=off

    then you plug in your lcd and reboot and it works

    i spent 3 days on this until 2am each night

    i reckon the linux command line lives in the boot sector....

    ok well thanks - problem solved - mother board ok and graphics ok -

    alan with 2 graphics cards .....
     
  11. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hello Alan

    You could write a little linux script that did that for you automatically.

    If you don't know how to do this then this is a good opportunity to learn something that will result in a practical use... :D The link below will take you to your first Linux scripting lesson. Good Luck :thumb:

    http://www.freeos.com/guides/lsst/
     
  12. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    thanks i will - but now i can run it with both drives disconnected !

    satrted anew thread about the commands and where they are saved,, v many thanks alan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.