Can't resize partition Restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by catman915, Dec 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    I'm new to TI and am having a problem. I backed up a disk(230GB overall with about 50GB used) I want to restore it to a smaller Partition(150GB). I tried to reduce it's size in the Restore process but it won't let me. The sliders won't move and I can't enter numbers into the size windows. If I understand it correctly I should be able to do this. I've read about numerous work arounds but would prefer that it work in the program.Would appreciate any assistance. Thanks
     
  2. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    Is the new hard drive already partition?

    I always partition the new hard drive first, in your case make a partition 150gb. Next restore your 50gb tib file into that partition, when I do it this way, true image sliders will let me expand that 50gb of data to fill all the 150gb partition.

    I do this alot with windows xp, restore a larger partition onto a smaller partition and as long as I follow the above steps it always works as planned.
     
  3. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Partition already exists. When I attempt to resize the backup during restore it won't let me.
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    What version of TI are you using? Check line 3 of my signature below. There are examples of restoring a one partition disk.
     
  5. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    ver 9646. I haven't tried expanding. I need to reduce size to fit smaller partition and it won't let me.
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    During the restore, when you reach the "Partition Size" screen, hover your mouse over the right side end of the partition bar. This may take a couple tries but you should get the black bars which enable you to move the right side to the left which will reduce the size of the partition. I am assuming that the space shown on this screen is currently the full size of the disk. If you are stil unable to resize, maybe post a picture of the "partition size" screen.
     
  7. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    I get the black bars but when I try to resize nothing happens.I think the size of the original partition is correct.
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Catman915,
    As previously mentioned, you should be able to move the slider to reduce the partition size. This is a normal part of TI's restore functions.

    But, let's assume you are successful. The space removed from the C drive will not automatically be assigned to the other drive. This space will be unallocated space. You will either need to restore your data drive and expand the space into the unallocated space; or use Windows and create an additional partition.

    You can use the suggestion Joey has offered, or another suggestion might be this.

    1. Use TI and create a Secure Zone. Create it on the C drive and and make the secure zone the same size you want to remove from C. When creating the Secure Zone, do NOT create the default Startup Recovery Manager. It must be unchecked.

    After the Secure Zone is created, then start True Image Home again and have the program delete the Secure Zone. Once TI deletes the Secure zone, it will prompt you to which drive should receive the additional space. At this point, you can choose your data partation and it will then be enlarged by whatever space was assigned to the cancelled Secure Zone.
     
  9. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Restoring to a partition that is thw same or larger doesn't seem to be a problem but when You get the "pick alocation" screen any partition that is smaller than the original is greyed out and can't be chosen.
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,479
    Location:
    California
    Is this the "resize" screen you're using? I don't get any "black bars" on mine. Just the arrow cursor and sometimes a hand.
    resizepartitionTI-2009.jpg

    ---

    Posting images of the problem screens may help in figuring out the problem. I'm not showing anything odd doing a test 60GB -> 30GB partition restore.
     
  11. hauge48

    hauge48 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Hi,

    I've had all kinds of problems trying to shrink the boot partition with Acronis, exactly which I won't go into. This is a way, though:
    PerfectDisk gives you the opportunity to compact your files provided you temporarily erase some system files: swapfile, hyber file and restore points. Then after a couple of boot-time defrags you have all data in a continuous space. Then use Windows disk manager to shrink the partition.
     
  12. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Do you get a small red mark on the extreme top left of the horizontal bar as well as the sliders not moving? If so then I had this problem too.

    I tried for ages to reduce the size of my drive C: using the sliders. But I just could not move the slider. In the end after a couple of reboots I was able to resize the drive. I dont know if it was me or the software. I have used resizing many times but only had this one occasion where it did not work. The manual was no help and I still dont know what the small red mark means. I emailed Acronis but 6 weeks later no response.

    So do a reboot then try again.
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,479
    Location:
    California
    The "red mark" or "C" on the partition graphic usually means TI (or DD) detects something is corrupt or not correct with the partition. In most cases, TI/DD will refuse to make any changes to a partition in that state.

    You could run chkdsk /f on the partition in question and see if it helps.
     
  14. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Problem solved thanks to several suggestions!
    In Summary,
    1) I have a number of backups of Vista 32 and XP 32 systems with and without Incrementals.
    2) It seems as though some of them were done unknowingly with "CHKDSK" type errors even though the system seemed to work without evidence of a problem.
    3) After the tip about the "Red C" on the partition and TI refusing to allow any changes with system errors I went back and Restored each backup to a Partition larger than the original which TI allowed.
    4) I then ran CHKDSK on each and fixed the problems.
    5) I then Backed up the repaired system and tried to restore to a smaller Partition I created and they all worked or at least to the point where I had to commit to the restore.
    It's a good thing I'm retired and have far more time than any thing else:D I'd like to thank all who responded and helped point me to the solution. I will say that it would be nice and very helpful to those of us not real experienced with the Application if it would notify you when it detects such problems instead of just refusing to do it. I'm sure this happens to many people due to unruly programs that sometimes lockup and require a Brute Force shutdown. Thereby causing corruption of the file system.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.