Can't Resize or merge

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by kapmep, Mar 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kapmep

    kapmep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I am running the latest build "2160" of Disk Director on a clean install of Vista Home Premium. The Computer used to be a HP and had a partition with all of the restore software. After Formatting everything and doing a fresh install of Vista I now had 8gb of unused space and wanted to merge it with my C drive.
    No matter how I try to resize,merge, etc everything looks correct and even on reboot I see all the checks going on in DOS before the computer boots back up. The problem is that nothing changes. When I open the program up It shows everything like I never tried to change anything. I also run this program as "administrator" so I don't know what to do next. Any Suggestions?

    Thanks
    Kent
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Boot from the rescue cd and try doing the merge. Some people have better success that way than by starting the process in Windows and DD having to reboot to finish.
     
  3. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    To add to MudCrab's advice, if your HP machine had a factory restore partition, then there might be a setting in the BIOS that enables or blocks access to that area of the disk. Check around for something like this.

    On my IBM laptop the setting is called "PreDesktop Area" and can be set to "Enabled", "Protected (no changes allowed)", or "Visible and reclaimable". You would want the latter setting if you intend to delete the system partition and merge it with another adjacent partition. If it is set to "Protected" then no software is allowed to access that area of the disk.
     
  4. kapmep

    kapmep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I had not tried to burn a cd with "bootable Media builder" but it's a no go. When I started the procedure everything looked fine until I clicked on the burn button. The enclosed attachment popped up. I tried to use the burner after this and had no problem. I'm still open for any suggestions and I appreciate the previous ones.

    Kent
     

    Attached Files:

  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Kent:

    The error message is apparently telling you that you're missing one of the files that are need to create the Bootable Media disk. The file is "icon_continue_48.png". Look in the folder C:\Program Files\Common Files\MediaBuilder to see if the file is there. It's a 7.72 kB icon image file. In my Media Builder folder there are a total of 9 files totaling 7.99 MB.

    If you don't see the file (picture attached) or any of the other 8 files then you need to run the installer for Acronis Disk Director again and make sure that it is set to install both DD and Bootable Media Builder.

    (If you're only missing that one file then you can right-click on the image below and save it to your computer.)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. kapmep

    kapmep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for your help Mark. Actually I'm not sure which of two tasks I completed corrected the problem. First I uninstalled Disk Director, rebooted and cleaned all references, and then reinstalled it. I also recently installed Roxio Easy Media Creator 9 Suite. I have had problems with Roxio Software in the past but got a good price for the software so I purchased it. Anyway I removed it also. After that I was able to burn the CD. Running from DOS was the way to go. I was able to do everything I wanted with no problems what so ever. Thanks again for your help.

    Kent:D
     
  7. skp73004

    skp73004 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    New Vista Home Premium PC - 320 GB drive came partitioned with approx 288 GB on C: and 10 GB on D: I wanted to increase size of D: partition to make it usuable for backup files. Tried to resize under Vista - did not work. I created the bootable media, and was able to resize the partitions booting from the CD.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.