Can't recover hard drive space after aborted backup attempt

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ncamron, Aug 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ncamron

ncamron Registered Member

Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to the product (Acronis True Image 9.0) and have run into a problem I can’t seem figure out. I’m using XP

I tried to create a backup of my hard drive using the “backup” button in the main menu under “Pick a task”. I picked my drive to backup and started the task. After starting the backup I had a change of heart about where I wanted the backup to reside as I realized I was short on space (I never created a secure zone BTW) and cancelled the operation before it finished. When I checked my hard drive size immediately afterwards I noticed it had lost about 30Gig worth of space and there doesn’t seem to be a way to get it back. At this point I just want my hard drive the way it was before the aborted backup, as I need more space in that drive. I double-checked to see if a secure zone was somehow automatically created but Acronis does not show that any exists nor does it show that the .tib file I created exists when I go to “check archive”.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

2. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

I've aborted lots of backups with TI and never had any change to the hard drive, so I really doubt that this is the source of the problem.

It's more likely that you did in fact create a SecureZone even though you did not intend to do so.

What partititions are shown for your hard drive(s)? You need to use a partition manager or the Windows XP Disk Management tool. (Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Computer Management, and click on Disk Management in the left hand pane. In the right pane, you hard drives and partitions will be displayed.

Tell us what you see.

3. ncamron

Hi John,